Wray & Nephew White Overproof rum

Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10
213 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
6
1
10
25
24
60
59
16
6

Rate Wray & Nephew White Overproof

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

213 Wray & Nephew White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

abrarey ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 50 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

The bomb for mixing. Strong Jamaican funk. A must-have for cocktails.

Dunderful ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is delicious. Imagine a very sweaty person standing in overripe and rotten tropical fruit while frying bananas, papayas and pineapple on a grill which is occasionally doused in gasoline and you'll be somewhere in this rum's fun park of flavour. It is packed with that distinct Jamaican estery funkiness. Bacardi white this ain't.

I believe it is a mix of pot and column still distillate (I'd love to see a pot still only expression, btw). Although it is intended as a mixer--it's pretty much an essential white OP for many cocktails--I actually quite enjoy this neat, albeit with a few drops of water to bring it down to a more manageable 45-50%.

It is truly bold, singular stuff! This IS rum! If you like flavourless white rums may I suggest you check out a little drink known as vodka. And just as an aside, many of the people who gave this a negative review apparently rate stuff like Zacapa and Diplomatico Reserva very highly, which, in my opinion, are more like rum liqueurs. These "rums", although popular, are invariably overly sweet, characterless and inoffensive spirits that have had whatever soul they may have possessed blended, sugar'd, glycerol'd, vanilla'd, prune'd and mystery-ingredient'd out of them. This, on the other hand, is simply rum, as all rum should be. Anyway... just something to keep in mind when reading the negative reviews.

Recommended for:

People who like real, characterful rum.

Fans of flavour.

Folk who enjoy the peculiar funkiness typically found in Jamaican rum and many unaged agricoles, cachacas, clairins, etc.

Cory Wid ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 89 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Many a distiller has envied for the secrets of Jamaican rum. To create an immensely flavorful "arome" rum distillate is no simple task; in Jamaica, they've had several hundred years to practice and develop their technique.
You can buy dirt-cheap and near-flavorless white rums just about anywhere: Bacardi and Don Q are easy examples. To solve the problem of "lack of flavor", many distilleries turn to barrel aging or sugaring (or even adding artificial flavors) to give their rum more interesting qualities. The incredible thing about this bottle is - all the flavoring was created in the fermentation and distillation. There has been NO conditioning of the distillate at all. No added flavors, no barrel aging, NOTHING... and it is one of the most flavorful rums I have ever tasted.

When the funk can be so hard to find these days, old 'Wray and Nephew' in its seemingly cheap bottle is found just about everywhere. The quality of the distillate is what many would consider the holy grail of rum - ultra flavorful and complex, with an uncompromising pungency and brooding raw power. The complex acidity and sheer variety of flavor is enough to drive you crazy... That unforgettable fruity aroma even lingers in the glass after it has been drunk.

It is the rum of so many forgotten punches and mixed drinks, lending an incredible character of overripe fruits that integrates and evolves with equally flavorful syrups, juices, and spices. This is one of my favorite tiki rums, used often in a plantation punch. The contents of the bottle disappear quickly, but alas - Its $18 at Woodman's in WI, so my wallet is smiling too. A benchmark.

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Yeah I know, mix it with Ting. Look, Ting will mask the taste of anything. Cat urine mixes well with Ting. The more useful question is, how does this stuff taste on the rocks or even neat? Well, I'd rather attempt to eat a live porcupine before I drink it again. Its distinctive flavor (wet dog fur) overpowered (ruined) my tiki drinks. Also, I had no luck drinking it on the rocks, even with lime and sugar. And straight up? The unmistakable aroma of hospital emergency room made my eyes water, even before sipping it. Years later, I still have half a bottle of this stuff and I avoid it every chance I get.

RumGuy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This rum has the most amazing intoxicating aroma I have smelled. Tons of overripe banana and esters going on. Super unique. Strong on the tongue but honestly is okay to be sipped. Super super aromatic, reminiscent of Italian aromatized wines.
Of course, since it's overproof you should add some water or ice if you want to sip. With water or ice the nose rounds out a bit giving way to more subtle and round sugar and caramel scents as opposed to the initial fruitiness. Palate, again, super unique, banana, cherry, coconut, I want to say some subtle cheesy notes in there.

It seems most people who bought and used this rum didn't do much research or don't know much about styles and regional differences in rum because I honestly think this is a shining star in terms of funky Jamaican rums in its bracket.

Just know that when you buy this rum you're buying an alcohol and flavor bomb. This isn't a simple rum which can be used as a substitution or be substituted for.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATTGY3MyBWo

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The world's most famous drink mixer rum(?) is a blend of rum distilled in a column still and a pot still whereafter itโ€™s stored in a steel tank for a year before being bottled.

It was this rum that was used by Victor Bergeron when he created Mai Tai in 1944.

It has a spicy sweet, fruity and fresh scent. The taste is floral with a slight crunchiness, where there is citrus and syrup. Despite the high alcohol content, the taste is mild with fruity hints of banana and pineapple. in the aftertaste there is a certain sweetness and a long spiciness.
Picture: My opened bottle & My Jamaican shelf.

daveyjones ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 22 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

If you love rum, or just tasting drinks or even cooking then you really need a bottle of this. Its really unique and great fun.

The cheap looking bottle that this arrives in is perfect in the same way that some girls look perfect when they wear their old track pants and a dirty dancing t-shirt.

It pours thickly from the very handy slow pouring cap and once released into your glass youโ€™ll smell it....that unmistakable Jamaican pong that nothing else quite has.

I like it with lime and sugar but the real jam with this juice is how it saves any drink that youโ€™ve put Bacardi Carta Blanca into from boring you to death.

I really love this one.

P.s. to anyone who compares this drink to that aged rum you like to sip while discussing what colour would be best for when you reupholster your yacht then stop. Your doing it wrong.

SkipZ ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

On the nose it's a little sharp as you would expect form an overproof Rum. It smacks you in the face a little like Animal going off on a belligerent drum solo delaying the coda as Dr. Teeth grows wary of certain destruction. However, there is an ensemble of fine instrumentalists waiting their chance to solo in the background. A little pineapple, papaya, grass and sweet mustiness along with buckwheat honey and toffee brittle showcase the supporting orchestra. This isn't meant to sip but feel free if you can dial down your intake to keep your throat from whimpering in fear. Yes, its hot but not a hellhound by any measure. This is a constant staple in my bar to brighten up and add depth to many cocktails. My favorite is substituting in a 1/2 ounce for cachaca and making knock-out Caipirinhas.

dl3000 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

They say Jamaicans drink it straight, no chaser.. Green Bananas, rotten vegetation and alcohol on the nose. For me it's only tolerable in Jamaican style punches.

Stabby ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 68 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I don't understand this....rum, or whatever it is. I don't get how it's getting high ratings when, after I poured it, got a terrible smell as I floated it on my tiki drink that called for an over proof. I figured I had bought a cleaner or something. I by a rum, good or bad, it should taste like rum, not arse.

Lars P. Skaarup ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

There's only one way truly enjoy this rum, Jamaican style - straight up with a tiny splash of water. Tastes just like how it smells at the Appleton Estate. Fantastic!




Brand Details

Name: White Overproof
Company: Wray & Nephew
Type: Overproof
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading