Foursquare 2007 Sagacity 12-Year rum

Foursquare 2007 Sagacity 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 48.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.8/10
70 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
20
40
8

Rate Foursquare 2007 Sagacity 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

70 Foursquare 2007 Sagacity 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Althaur (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Finally got around to making some notes after enjoying a couple of tastes. This is a really nice rum. I got immediate floral notes on the nose, followed by molasses, caramel, brown sugar, and a bit of citrus after it sat a while longer.

On the palate it is initially sweet, like juicy cherries or plums. That was followed by cloves, spices, dried fruits, and some tropical notes. I got busy and came back to it about ten minutes later and was immediately struck by a taste reminiscent of cotton candy.

The finish was nice with a bit of heat, tobacco, and a slight hint of oak.

A very nice sipper!

GH ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 35 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Fan of this brand & the integrity behind their label. Nice nose, deep caramel warm chocolate across the palate, finishes with SMOKE!? Every time I drink it, I cannot believe the smokiness on the backend. Maybe Iโ€™m wrong, I definitely do not have a sophisticated palate. Either way, WINNER!

matbli ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 15 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Let it breath some minutes. The first hit was alcoholic but after a few minutes a beautiful palate of flavours appear.
Aroma: vanilla, backed bananas, bourbon, red wine, later black current and wine zest.
Taste: less sweet than the nose suggests. Spicy, light sweet. Long finish with spices and wine'ish tanins.

randycous (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 54 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

One the best tasting rums Iโ€™ve had. Careful with sipping neat an overproof rum.

pgrace (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Beautiful deep flavors toffee dark chocolate burnt caramel.

Get one if you can find one

vomi1011 ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 396 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The rum was bottled at 48%. We have a blend of pot and coffey still that has been matured in ex-bourbon barrels for 12 years. Some of it was stored in ex-Madeira barrels.

Smell: A typical Foursquare finds its way into my nose. Caramel sweetness, dried fruits such as plums / raisins / cranberries and hazelnuts dominate the nose. The rum is a bit alcoholic deeper in the glass. The aromas are therefore not clearly distinguishable for me.
There are still barrel aromas such as oak, some vanilla and some rubber. I think it has similarities with Detente. This is a Foursquare that smells okay, but for me it doesn't belong to the better ones of the ECS series.

Taste: The start is a bit bitter with tannins, the dark wood and the sweetness of burnt sugar. The rum is noticeably older than Detente and more intense on the palate than on the nose. I still taste some gum and the dried fruit before the rum becomes dry on the palate and spicy.
The finish is sharp and medium-long, I can taste barrel aromas, burnt sugar and dried fruits again. Then some hazelnut and the rum says goodbye with a little sweetness.
A dry mouthfeel remains.

Aftertaste: dried fruit, burnt sugar and bourbon barrel flavors

A mediocre bottling that was probably positioned in the middle in terms of price. The rum is not bad, but it didn't impress real Foursquare fans because it provides a standard range of flavors. The influence of Madeira barrel is limited, compared with Empery that has a much stronger sherry influence.

Overall rating: 84 points

Sweetness: 2.5 / 5
Fruit: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (60 โ‚ฌ): 3/5

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 239 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

FS Sagacity
- Have been looking forward to taste FS ECS Sagacity rum bottled at 48% ABV. The lower ABV is noticeable on the nose, however not a detriment. It smells like sweet (but not overly sweetened) burnt sugar and feels so clean and crisp. First sip and I understand why this rum gathered such good reviews. Awfully good rum, totally recognizable with the Foursquare distillery. The lower ABV separates this rum from the FS Empery, FS Redoutable and the FS 2008 series but it is nevertheless as appealing to the others. Definitely a rum I must acquire.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 324 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Bought me 2*3cl samples of this one from a fellow member in a Swedish rum group.
Itโ€™s number eleven in the Foursquare EC Series. It consists of a blend from both Pot and Coffey stills distillate aged for twelve years in ex-Bourbon and ex-Madeira casks before blended at ABV 48%.
In nose itโ€™s intense, complex and fruity with notes of ginger.
In mouth, palate and during the long finish the fruitiness and the ginger taste still there, but I also detect chocolate, pepper, oak and hints of coconut, tobacco and vanilla. The latter taste mostly in the end.
Overall an intense, complex, pleasant and any other superlatives that comes to your mind.
Picture: My emptied samples poured in a glass.

Bob ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 74 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Bourbony notes and fruit notes from the wine casks. Exceptional indeed.

BingChen Taiwan, Republic Of China | 27 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The Madeira cask gave some delightful acidity to this rum. The aroma gives off some hints of caramel raisins and the taste has tiny bit of sweetness to it. Iโ€™m sorry I just canโ€™t describe how amazing this rum is but it is definitely on the sweeter side of the spectrum for the Four square exceptional cask series. I could replace all my dessert with this.

Russ ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 111 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is another of the "Exceptional Cask Series" that Foursquare has been turning out of the last few years and like the others this one is also a winner. It has a great nose where the natural sweetness comes through. The first sip is somewhat spicy which is surprising since it has a lower ABV of 48% compared to the other Cask series. However, further sips the sweetness and complex flavors come through. I'm really enjoying this one!




Brand Details

Name: 2007 Sagacity 12-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 48.0%
Aged: 12
Distilled: 2007

Loading

Articles

Loading

Loading

Loading