Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year

Colombia | Aged | Pot Still Distilled

6.5/10
38 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
8
10
9
2
1

Rate Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

38 Medellin Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

RedBlaze6 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Sweet aroma. The taste, not so much but with a fruity flavor at the start. Ends dry with a good amount of oak present. Enjoyable but very short finish and dryer than I usually like. I prefer sipping rums, and this isn't a bad one. Just doesn't stand out at all. Would drink again if offered to me but not one I will be purchasing for my shelf.

Nicoakr πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 106 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Not bad but... Nice fruity first nose, more oaky afterwards. The mouth is a bit disappointing though it has a long warm finish. Vanilla and baked apple flavours, oaky. I would recommend the 10yrs anniversary edition of in Colombia. Same price but much better thanks to a nice blend of 10, 20 and 30 yrs reserve rums.

eddieo πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 106 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a rough-tasting aged industrial rum, it does not really stand up to its Venezuelan or Panamanian counterparts. Nothing special, it may remind you of a another anejo, similar to Havana 7 or Abuelo. Not a lot of flavor on the palate, the caramel is there (likely added) and the alcohol burns off high in the sinuses. Dare I say it almost has a burned cane aftertaste.

I have had this neat, on the rocks and mixed, and if you give it enough time on ice it will be fine.

Will McQ πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 2 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Light golden, nice initial spicy taste, lack complexity of some other rums but an enjoyable drink

Andy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 120 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Really an enjoyable rum. Smooth but still interesting with a little spice. Short finish and not too oily. Probably good for rum rookies but maybe not complex enough for experienced rum drinkers

Patricebru πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 57 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I had some nice vanilla and coconut taste at first taste, and then nothing, very dry and flavours disappeared

Erik Marum πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 40 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is one of my faves. Definitely a strong butterscotch flavor profile and it is also incredibly smooth. My favorite way to enjoy this is to put it in the freezer for an hour, then sipping neat. This is also a dangerous way to consume this as it is a very smooth rum with a short finish. This, I find myself sipping incredibly frequently, which leads to...well...we know what it leads to. For the price, this is an excellent rum which is one of my standard go to's.

manoelmano πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 3 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Nose is rather sweet with some vanilla but nothing special, taste is also little bit fruity and oaky, good blender, not bad sipper

Javaznenevim πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 52 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Very nice natural ron from Colombia. No added sugar, no added flavor, no added colour. If you are fan of natural rums without added sugar, this one is deffinitely for you. I really enjoy it and only explonation I have for these bad reviews is that crybabies wants their sugarbombs. Only thing I dont like is the paper box, which is really badly designed and ron is hard to close inside it.

Nose: A bit of wood, a bit of tobacco, and a bit of chocolate. Nothing extremely intense.

Taste: Natural smooth taste of rum, without sweetness, without any aditions. Wood and a bit of spiciness, also almost no burn in the end. Not the best rum from Colombia, but worth of trying for sure. Really hard to get in my country.

Chet πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 192 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

This is a decent rum, unique flavors but still tastes like rum. Has a hint of lighter fruits, no sweetness what so ever and leaves your mouth enjoying the flavors. 12 year at a decent level of complexity.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 12-Year
Company: Medellin
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot Still
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading