El Dorado 2006 Versailles Single Still 12-Year rum

El Dorado 2006 Versailles Single Still 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

8.6/10
8 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
1

Rate El Dorado 2006 Versailles Single Still 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

8 El Dorado 2006 Versailles Single Still 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Neman3 🇨🇦 | 159 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Neutral on nose doesn't promice a lot, but very delicious, chocolate, fruity taste. Not that complex as can be blended rum, still rich and smooth.
Not long aftertaste but that's easy to fix with next sip.
Эльдо Радость )

mattrensa (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 23 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Dark caramel colour, traditional El Dorado aged for 12 years, this is a 2018 Single Still release. Lovely aroma on the nose, allow it to sit in the glass for a few minutes, I drank this neat and really enjoyed the smooth, chocolately character of this rum, some hint of banana and spiced plum, very nice.
Putting off opening my 2000 Skeldon till I’m able to share with friends and be interesting to see how it compares to this.

Mario Kc 🇨🇦 | 14 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This is a very unique and flavorsome rum with notes of leather, dark chocolate, molasses and hints of vanilla. I would call it a scotch lovers rum (my friends who love scotch seem to like this rum very much). The finish is rich and oaky. It is quite enjoyable, especially with a cigar, however I usually switch to a smoother, lighter rum for a second glass.

Yohobro 🇨🇦 | 37 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

($69CAD) This was my first purchase of the three 2006 single still releases, and it's what convinced me to get the other two. I'm a big fan of ED so I knew it was only a matter of time before I tried one of these. The Versailles did not disappoint. In fact, it only affirmed my love for the El Dorado family.
When I pop the cork, it smells of butterscotch and a lot of molasses.Also some candied fruit and burnt sugar. In other words: it smelt like heaven. When I smell this next to the ED21, there are some similarities, with the 21 smelling more heavily of candied fruits.
The Versailles tastes of sweet molasses, into a nutty peppery goodness, into cognac, into oak with some cherries to top it off. It is full flavoured without being too chaotic. No crazy sweetness or too many fruity flavours. For me, it seems to dwell most heavily in the nutty, peppery and oak range with a bit of orange zest as well.
I really enjoy this. The smell is incredibly enticing, and the taste lives up to those expectations. This is a contender for my favourite rum and I'm glad I went for it. Might have to get the last bottle at the store...
Cheers!

Sheldonpenney 🇨🇦 | 24 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Tones of chocolate and black licorice...interesting flavour and full bodied

Paul 🇦🇺 | 141 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

strong, full of flavour and value, excellent smells waft up from opening
great sipper

Foggyrumrunner 🇨🇦 | 50 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Fascinating nose - whisky like. The dark fruits remind me of Canadian Club 20 year old or a sherried single malt, like Glendronach 12. The nose continues with pastry, like an almond croissant, sweet wood, and something like black currants or cherries - incredible! The palate has a touch of sweetness up front to begin, but this is not a sweet rum. There is a good dose of wood and spice before exiting to a woody, medium-length finish. I just nosed the empty Glencairn glass for 30 minutes afterward. Outstanding rum!

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Nicely aged very dark brown Full bodied rum. I just samples all three single still rums. Many of the typical ED flavors but without added sugar. I can only imagine this at cask strength. Sample tested was 40 %. I love this rum just very hard to find in US.




Brand Details

Name: 2006 Versailles Single Still 12-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Distilled: 2006

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading