Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Anejo rum

Santiago de Cuba Anejo

Cuba | Gold

6.6/10
157 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
16
52
45
24
10
3

Rate Santiago de Cuba Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

157 Santiago de Cuba Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

Very mild smell, smooth going down but a bit of a bite on the back end. Upon further sips....the finish reminds me of tequila. I'm not a huge tequila fan so I lowered my rating from 7 to 6. A good conversation piece to have in the cabinet but overly great in my opinion. The finish really spoiled it for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 147 ratings

Well, Cuban rum is not just cheaper members of the Havana Club lineup - up to 7y, all with pronounced tobacco and wood. This is quite different style, and after an initial "shock and awe" period, I discovered a very smooth (for its age and price) and tasty rum here. The nose is quite unusual for rum, it reminds me of aged French calvados, contains chocolate, cocoa, a hint of oak, the taste is spicy yet smooth, pretty straightforward, light, with a hint of vanilla and chocolate, maybe some tobacco, the finish is mild spices, with oaky Calvados, medium long, ending with a red wine dryness. It shares some similarity with Conde de Cuba 5y or 7y, but it is more crispy, spicy, well defined and quite a lot cheaper. It shares also some traits with Cubay Anejo, which is good news - Cubay Anejo is an embodiment of excellent Cuban rum for a reasonable price. I can sip it, it makes neat rum and coke, and for its price, some 20% more than Captain Morgan - it is just perfect. No sugar detected.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Sherwoodlad from Slovakia with 1 rating

👀 Clear, deep amber colour .
👃🏻 honey, cinamon, some notes of orange, too. Woody.
👅Light, gently sweet. Orange, vanilla, wallnut and smoke.
Quite average rum which is good for parties or mixing for drinks. Relatively drinkable on its own too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by toma98 from Romania with 10 ratings

Just as the Havana Club Anejo Especial, a great choice for mixing, especially with coke. It's upper hand would be the price. A very safe choice.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BenB from Canada with 2 ratings

An honest rum, too young to sip, good to mix, a regular Cuban.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 516 ratings

Za málo peněz vcelku hodně muziky, velké překvapení, pohodové nasládlé pití na celý večer

Small img 20211007 212455

Posted over 1 year ago by SPEHUN from Hungary with 46 ratings

Ebben az árban ez a legjobb választás annak aki még ismerkedik a rumokkal.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by TroyB from Canada with 22 ratings

I had a taste test between this variety and the 11 year. There was not much to choose between the two which surprised me. The nod between the two foes to the 11 year, but if you consider value for the dollar go with this brand. Hence a 6/10 rating.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by kbill from Romania with 23 ratings

It never fails to deliver, and i had my truckload for testing purposes.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Berry1998 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

Santiago de Cuba Anejo
It is quite sweet on the nose and very pleasant. This Rum has a strong burn in the back of your throat at first. After the burn it is a nice rum. It kinda reminds me of a spiced rum. Considering the harsh alcohol burn this rum isn't for everyone, but considering the retail price (€16-18 in NL) you should definitely try it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Diego from Australia with 20 ratings

It's Havana Club's Anejo Especial's poorer cousin, close but no cigar. That said, It's still a very nice rum that I wouldn't say no to and much better than other rums in it's price range.