Posting your rating...
Santiago de Cuba Anejo rum

Santiago de Cuba Anejo

Cuba | Gold

6.6/10
157 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
16
52
45
24
10
3

Rate Santiago de Cuba Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

157 Santiago de Cuba Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

Very mild smell, smooth going down but a bit of a bite on the back end. Upon further sips....the finish reminds me of tequila. I'm not a huge tequila fan so I lowered my rating from 7 to 6. A good conversation piece to have in the cabinet but overly great in my opinion. The finish really spoiled it for me.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jordy from Canada with 9 ratings

excellent rum, not overpowering. Great for rum and coke!

Posted 24 days ago by Neman3 from Canada with 135 ratings

Just went back from all inclusive vacation on cayo Guillermo, Cuba. That was full of sun, fun and sure of rum.
Even there was literally nothing included from the premium sorts the all those Anejos were fine and scored:
Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo - 7
Cubay Anejo - 7
Santero Anejo Oscuro - 7
Havana Club Anejo Reserva - 7
Santiago de Cuba Extra Seco - 8

The Extra Seco (extra dry) has exceptional taste compared to all those spiced. Light in color, very dry and pretty smooth, I liked it a lot.

Sorts from bottom line are too sharp with pronounced alcohol and are OK for cocktails only:
Havana Club Ritual - 6
Havana Club Anejo Especial - 6

The choice for more matured sorts:
Cubay 10 - 8
Havana Club 7 - 8
Santiago de Cuba 11 and 12 (only in Cigar bar) - 10.

Bought in hotel store Cubay 1870 Extra Anejo - 9.
Its profile is very similar to Cubay 10 - just more smooth and somehow more complex.

What I bought home and did not try yet: Santiago de Cuba 20. I have to report that all the sorts were less expensive (10-15%) at hotel's store then at the airport. So that is not the duty free, but "extra duty" stores.
Finally, what was "window shopped" only (- USD):
Havana Club Tribute 2019 - 555
Havana Club Union - 420
Havana Club 15 - 195
Cubay 1870 Extra Viejo - 133
Selection de Maestros - 55
Pacto Navio - 55

Happy New Year!

Posted 26 days ago by Murray from Canada with 7 ratings

One of my favourite Cuban rums, will enjoy in a cubata or by itself

Posted 1 month ago by Rorschach from Bulgaria with 27 ratings

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

It might be that I'm a New World guy but I have issues with most Cuban rums as well as with most Cuban cigars. To me, they are all brutally overrated and targeted mostly at the American consumer and with very little exceptions don't live up to their price. This was my third Cuban rum and it follows other two closely. On the rocks it's fine and actually tasty but having it neat is impossible. And frankly, stuffing ice so you can handle the drink is just wrong in my book and borderlining with trailer trash alcoholism, so I'd simply not have it again.

Posted 1 month ago by dajana from Belarus with 29 ratings

Very alcoholic, with a disgusting smell and expensive.

Posted 3 months ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 277 ratings

Basic version of what you can get in the higher versions. Go for it if you think Soleras are overdone.

Posted 5 months ago by KissAljas from Hungary with 70 ratings

Ár érték aranybán tökéletes long drink és koktél alapanyag. Az íze és illata abszolút semleges. Csak egy kis édeskés ízvilága van,de a lecsengése is mentes az alkoholtól is ezért nagyon jó választás lehet. De magában semmi.

Posted 5 months ago by Jaycee from Australia with 32 ratings

Enjoyed but wouldn’t rush back, mild flavours. I may keep an on-special bottle on the cupboard for late night mixer. Late edit, unlikely to purchase again

Posted 10 months ago by shindler from Poland with 26 ratings

I’ve bought it after a reading an article on blog that it is one of the things that is worth trying when testing Cuban rums. Oh how big was my disappointment. For me ok, but nothing worth returning to.

Posted 11 months ago by Ravanagh from Australia with 23 ratings

If, like me, you don’t like spiced rum, you want to stick to rum that tastes like rum, not vanilla.

This is a fine rum-drinker’s rum. It’s a ‘suave,’ which is Spanish for smooth; and smooth it is!

It’s doesn’t have many other characteristics, but it doesn’t need them. There is nothing wrong with it. It’s a good rum (but probably still best for mixing/cocktails).