Posting your rating...
Worthy Park 2006 Single Estate 12-Year rum

Worthy Park 2006 Single Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 56.0% ABV

8.6/10
18 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
8
4

Rate Worthy Park 2006 Single Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

18 Worthy Park 2006 Single Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 6 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 9/10
smell - 8.5/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 12 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 156 ratings

Not surprised, this is good! Classic Jamaica, fruity, dried banana and high esters. Aftertaste is long and deep. What’s not to like!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 59 ratings

It is the next level of Jamaican rum - all the flavors and aromas of a worthy park rum are easily identifiable in this rum. It is a no-brainer: if you find it, but it!!! And thank me later 👍🏽

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 228 ratings

This has got everything. Great nose. First sip is very balanced. Flavors of vanilla, cane, oak with faint notes of caramel and spice. Beautiful smooth bite. Everything in balance. Fills the mouth, coats the pallet. Chewy, sumptuous. Now the complexity hits. There are coffee and banana notes back there. This culminates with a long smooth finish. VERY special rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Polis from Czech Republic with 14 ratings

This WPSE2006 absolutely fits for purpose from my point of view. This has it all until I'm surprised how smoothly balanced this action is with 56% voltages. Great when you smell it. First I licked the drop sideways and I say it will be sweet but, the sip is very balanced. The taste of vanilla, cane, oak with faint tones of caramel and spices. Actually smooth caress. Everything in balance. He fills his mouth, paints the palate. Superb luxury.
Finally, light coffee with a banana note.

Today I have it for the first time, but in my modest collection it already occupies its place and I will return to it, I definitely recommend 🥃

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by MarcoCos from Italy with 1 rating

This could be just about as close to Worthy Park perfection as I could’ve hoped for

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Razrr88 from Italy with 5 ratings

Complex, balanced, with exotic nuances but firmly anchored to the Jamaican tradition. Welcome Worthy park!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 392 ratings

Got an opportunity to buy this at the black friday sale for 76€.
Here we have the oldest self-bottling from WP with 12 years and 56% strength. It's a WPL or maybe a blend of WPL and WPM, bottled in 2006.

Smell: It starts out rich and a bit hot with orange zest, mandarins, wood varnish and deep caramel sweetness. The smell is balanced, there is wood with leather notes that gives it more complexity. The WP bananas play a subordinate role here, but they are still clearly noticeable in combination with the wood. The aroma is typically reminiscent of dried banana chips. However, I wouldn't say they dominate the scent. I still notice raisins and other dried fruit, possibly dates. A very nice smell, nothing more needs to be said about it.

Taste: Woody, at the same time sweet start with notes of caramel and orange zest. The bananas are of course also at the start. It seems very floral, becomes sharp and dry in the mouth. I perceive the orange zest more intensely and bright wood notes with vanilla, some tannins rise with a slight bitterness. With a longer dwell time, dark barrel notes develop (old damp wood and some earthy aromas). After a while, the spiciness subsides and he goes more gently with the wood, banana chips, vanilla and some tannins.

Aftertaste: light oak, banana, floral notes

A great worthy park and also from own distillery bottling. Very fruity and still demanding for the purists. I would rate it with 89 points.

Overall rating: 89 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 3.5 / 5
Spice: 3.5 / 5
Complexity: 4/5
Value (109 €): 3.5 / 5 -> black friday sale (80€): 4/5
Experience level: professional

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 479 ratings

Already aroma is typical Jamaica - full of esters. First taste is full, sweet, woody and again esters. Strong but not burning as you would expect from 56%. What I love is aftertaste - very long (few minutes) and full of many layers, dominating by pleasant fruits taste.

Small img 0322

Posted 2 months ago by Just 2thetop from Germany with 31 ratings

An upgrade to the standard Single Estate for sure with the higher ABV and added years giving it more intensity and complexity. A high quality excellent sipper. Some time to breathe and then a little water added opens up the 12 tropical year cask maturation and you get more for you money.
Competing with the Velier expressions with a similar high price tag the price (2020) will turn some away. 1 point docked for price - so would have been a 9 pointer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by waveril from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Jamaican rum were not love at first sight for me, even though I tried really good ones (according to others). But this one really amazed me. Nice nose with wood, vanilla and some fruits, smooth just a little sweet taste with fruity notes and what I absolutely loved was the banana finish. So for me the best start for Jamaican ester rum beginners!