Mount Gay XO Triple Cask rum

Mount Gay XO Triple Cask

Barbados | Aged

8.1/10
60 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
8
25
17
6

Rate Mount Gay XO Triple Cask

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

60 Mount Gay XO Triple Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Sykes024 🇦🇺 | 45 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Fantastic sweet smell on the nose.fantastic taste hints of caramel dark chocolate. Goes down smooth and dry without burn a great rum

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

It wasn't until I tasted this, that it became apparent to me, that this is almost exactly what i'm looking for in a barbadian rum. The combination of subtle, elegant flavours combined with personality and slightly dry, spicy hints.
The nose is delicious in a bounty beach kinda way, with lots of roasted coconut, vanilla, light charred oak spices and caramel. It really invites you in.
Sipped, the rum is medium bodied with a semidry, honeyed mouthfeel. The taste opens with buttery, dark chocolate, coconut and vanilla, before moving onto some more earthy notes of tobacco and leather in the mid palate.
The finish has has some nice charred oak notes and ginger-like spices. There's an underlying sweetness to the taste which strikes a great balance with the earthy spices. The finish is quite long.
I'm really appreciating the composition of this rum. In my book, it's a bit better than the old XO, but to be fair, it's a very long time since i had that one. This new incarnation reminds me of another barbadian favorite of mine, the rum sixty six from foursquare. Highly recommended.

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Welcome the Trudiann Branker with me, Mount Gay’s first female master blender.
Yes a woman, and don't be surpriced, women have an extremely fine sense for the balance of flavors. See my ratings of Unhiq XO and Zacapa XO, these are also creations of women.
This XO has still a Mount Gay XO profile, but with some differences. It's also very woody but less spicy. I think the cognack finish was a good decision. It reduced the spice and made the rum more balanced.
It's also 17y old instead of 15y. Consider that, if you think it's just got more expensive.
We just got a better rum. Still 43%, thanks god, she didn't dilute it.

So, what do we have here. Still a woody rum.
The dog that bites you in the nose is still there (did you think he drank all that cognack and went to sleep :). Also the wood is still there, not a surprice. We have also the orange in the background and the barrel. Less spicy nose overall with same aromas.
The taste has seen the biggest change.
The initial taste is less watery, you get immediately the wood and the orange peels. The taste is also less spicy and more balanced. And the rest is the same story, tannins, some vanilla,

I know some rums with similar profiles like Barcelo Onyx or Flor de Cana 18.
The new price of 45€ is appropriat, it's not a bargain like the old XO but a better rum overall.

Smell: oak and tannins, some vanilla, caramel, some grapes, some dry orange peels
Taste initial: oak, vanilla, dry orange, some tannins
Middle: orange peels, wood, earth/cask, vanilla
Finish: spice, bitterness from the tannins (orange peels), wet barrel/earth
Aftertaste: very present orange and after 5min peppermint

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Intensity: 3/5
Value (43€): 3/5
Experience level: amateur to professional (a beginner would not understand it, an expert wouldn't be bored)

Jaycee 🇦🇺 | 41 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Nectar of the gods! Gorgeous colour, delightful nose and amazing taste, a rich date flavour that lasts long. Perfect abv 43%. Outstanding

Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 205 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Der Mount Gay XO Triple Cask ist der direkte Nachfolger des XO Old Reserva. Im Gegensatz zum alten XO wird der neue XO nicht nur in Eichenfässern, sondern auch in amerikanischen Whisky sowie Cognacfässern gelagert. Das genaue Alter ist nicht bekannt. Mit 43% wird der XO in die klassische Mount Gay Flasche abgefüllt. Der Rum kommt selbstverständlich aus Barbados und ist daher ohne Zusatzstoffe.

Ich habe die beiden XOs gegen einander getrunken. In der Nase sind die beiden sich sehr ähnlich. Der alte XO ist etwas ausgewogener der Triple Cask hat etwas mehr süße und ist etwas kräftiger. Am Gaumen zeigt der Triple Cask angenehme Mount Gay typische Noten. Durchaus süß hat er deutliche Eichen Noten mit Karamel, Vanille und etwas Nuss. Im Gegensatz zum alten XO zeigt er etwas Frucht. Dafür fehlen aber die Röst und Rauch Aromen bzw. sind nur am Rande erkennbar. Finde ich etwas schade. Der Abgang ist sehr ähnlich, schön lang mit Tabak und viel Holz.

Der XO Triple Cask ist ein würdiger Nachfolger vom XO. Er hat mehr Süße und auch fruchtige Elemente. Dafür fehlen mir die Rauch Noten. Ich würde den alten XO als etwas komplexer einschätzen. Mir persönlich schmeckt er einen Hauch besser als der Triple Cask. Aber insgesamt sind beide Rums für 35-45 Euro absolute Kaufempfehlungen und auf Top Niveau.

The Mount Gay XO Triple Cask is the direct successor to the XO Old Reserva. In contrast to the old XO, the new XO is not only stored in oak barrels, but also in American whisky and cognac barrels. The exact age is not known. At 43%, the XO is bottled in the classic Mount Gay bottle. The rum comes naturally from Barbados and is therefore without additives.

I drank the two XOs against each other. In the nose, the two are very similar. The old XO is a bit more balanced, the Triple Cask has a bit more sweetness and is a bit stronger. On the palate, the Triple Cask shows pleasant Mount Gay typical notes. With a nice sweet note it has clear oak notes with caramel, vanilla and some nut. In contrast to the old XO, it shows some fruit. However, the roasting and smoke aromas are missing or are only recognizable on the margins. I think it's a pity. The finish is very similar, beautifully long with tobacco and lots of wood.

The XO Triple Cask is a worthy successor to the XO. It has more sweetness and also fruity elements. For this I lack the smoke notes. I would consider the old XO to be a bit more complex. Personally, it tastes a touch better than the Triple Cask. But overall, both rums for 35-45 euros are absolute purchase recommendations and at top level.

Lamantaalcoll 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Really good rum, easy to drink, spicy flavorfull..

RumRunner87 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This rum was an amazing edition to my cabinet. Flavors were complex not too sweet and you can really tell what it's been through. Definitely give this a try. Ice cube brings out a little more.

CK 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Where to begin without sounding like like a shill for Mount Gay? I adore this rum. Great nose, lots of good flavors I like and a smooth, creamy and spicy finish that lasts a long time. Its so well balanced in all aspects I cant recommend this enough. This is going to be a regular in my collection. Just a wonderful, enjoyable sipper.

Bramski 🇳🇱 | 21 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Lets start off negative by saying this aint the best rum i’ve ever tasted. But for the price, it beats out so so many (way) more expensive rums and, most importantly, gives you everything you are looking for in a sip of rum. Great smell, complexity of taste, smoothness, all qualities I appreciate in a good (top of the line) rum. It is my go to to enthousiast people about rum or to give to people who have only experienced the diplomaticos or don papa’s. Certainly the one rum that cant be missing on my self. I keep on buying it and I have an idea that won’t change for a very long time.

lonefalcon 🇺🇸 | 47 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Oak and charcoal aroma. Smooth flavor, with notes of oak and spices, even a dark charcoal notes. Short dry finish, which is pleasant in this rum. Highly recommend.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 452 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

This is one of the 23 rums that I have tried since I stopped submitting reviews 8 months ago. It is only one of two that warrant my repeat purchases. I did try their 1703 Master Select, which I would have rated as a 9, but at one third of that price and this one being almost as good, this one is certainly a better buy.

There seems to be two camps on this rum from Mount Gay. One camp still prefers the original MGXO. That is one of the few rums that sank so low in my ratings and so fast. I happen to be in the second camp that prefers this new MGXO Triple Cask from a new Master Blender. The first camp seems to hate this one. I will also take this rum any day over most of the Foursquare ECS rums that taste like bourbon. There is an art to blending rather than lucking out with one good cask.