HSE VSOP Reserve Speciale 4-Year rum

HSE VSOP Reserve Speciale 4-Year

Martinique | Aged | 45.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

7.2/10
47 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
5
11
18
7

Rate HSE VSOP Reserve Speciale 4-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

47 HSE VSOP Reserve Speciale 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Remi 🇫🇷 | 39 ratings

Très bon en bouche. Odeur boisé et fruits qui se retrouve au goût.

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

Today I got a sample of a cheap Agricole from HSE. Just 40€ in Germany at 45%.
I don't expect much, but let's see.

Nose: Sugar cane, grassy notes, wood (the cask influence is quite strong). The smell is very intensive and saturated for 45%. Peppery notes with some salty fruits, like star fruit, apples and apricots. Some orange zests. I would guess it's a JM or a more expensive agricole like Neisson/La Mauny. 80 to 100 Euro smell.

Taste: Diluted start with some sweetness, sugar cane, peppery melon, grassy aromas. It tingels in the mouth like sparkling water. In the middle when it became warm I get a lot of dry orange zests, then exotic fruits like star fruit with apricot jam, cask influence (wood with tobacco).
Wohoho, very good, at only 45% and for 40 Euro? I'm impressed, very impressed.
The finish is spicy, grassy aromas, fruits, slightly pepper, orange zests, wood, tobacco, sugar cane.

Conclusion: This was a very unexpected surprice. Holy Moly, what a great quality for the price.
It's complex, intensive, saturated and rich. Yes, the dilution is noticeable in the initial taste.
But at the price of 40 Euro... even if you don't like Agricole, this one is very good.

It earns 90 points. I haven't been so surprised by a cheap rhum in a long time.

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Complexity: 4/5
Value 42 Euro: +5/5

Posted over 2 years ago by ElPato 🇳🇴 | 37 ratings

Great rhum agricole aged in bourbon casks. Not super complex so it could be a six overall, but given the low price I add two bottles easily. This bottle has also earned medals in the French Concours général agricole.

A sweet scent of aged rum strike you first, with caramel and dried fruits, taken over by charred oak, toast and butter.

On the palate it is a bit astringent as all middle aged agricoles tend to be — a characteristic it shares with modern cognacs bruts. Grass and oak but also abricot and vanilla. Long finish with some bitterness but also abricot, peach and spice — and the unmistakable bourbon flavour framing it in. Very interesting combination because I tend to find bourbon too sweet but this is a dry rum.

HSE Très vieux VSOP offers excellent value for your money. Try it in a ti’punch, or any tiki cocktail with pineapple or enjoy neat unless you are sugarholic. The charred character from the bourbon casks matches pineapple very well if a neat agricole is too much for you.

Posted over 5 years ago by MARTIN 🇲🇶 | 69 ratings

Très riche et très fort en bouche. Laissez le précieux liquide quelques minutes dans votre verre avant de commencer la dégustation car il a une très forte odeur d'alcool!

Posted 1 month ago by bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 96 ratings

i compare this to clement vsop, color much darker, i don t feel the alcoholic burn like clement, natural sweetnes, banana is the predominant fruit i feel , smooth rum, long, warm finsh, more expensive that clement vsop but justified, also the proof is higher ...

Posted 6 months ago by IBO 🇸🇰 | 193 ratings

Toto HSE ma bavilo. V danej cene vek slušný agricole, znatelna stopa HSE. Ovocie,drevo, jemne vanilka a čokoláda. Stredne dlhý zaver

Posted 8 months ago by Tony Rvt 🇫🇷 | 8 ratings

Un agricole sec aux arômes complexes, un bout de chemin fait ensemble sans jamais de lasser. Une valeur sûre.

Posted 9 months ago by pablov 🇫🇷 | 14 ratings

La vanille est très presente, c'est très classique rhum agricole mais ca reste très bon !

Posted 10 months ago by Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 88 ratings

Smell: dried fruits, and orange, herbs, spice, barrels and caramel.
Taste: raisins, sitrus and marmalade, caramel and vanilla, good mouthfeel.

Posted 1 year ago by Chamacris 🇧🇪 | 7 ratings

Là, on quitte les retours fruités pour du gourmand capiteux et liquoreux ! C'est si intense qu'on a l'impression de lécher le tonneau directement !!

Posted 1 year ago by fidireal 🇫🇷 | 29 ratings

Ce vsop est tout simplement divin une vrai réussite




Brand Details

Name: VSOP Reserve Speciale 4-Year
Company: HSE
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 45.0%
Aged: 4
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514