Calypso Spiced rum

Calypso Spiced

Barbados | Spiced

4.9/10
15 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
3
1
2

Rate Calypso Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

15 Calypso Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 228 ratings

Sampled this rum after sampling Oakheart Spiced rum and found th3 flavours to b3 very similar. Not a bad rum but definitely a mixer.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ramon πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 76 ratings

I'm on a roll, trying all of the rum with a female pirate or sultry woman on the bottle. I put this one a bit above Blackheart, it's fairly smooth, the usual vanilla and a nice looking bottle for the shelf for my swashbuckling drinking friends. Maybe the best rum out of the island nation of Louisville KY. Like I said, baught it for the label, I'll finish it eventually but it won't be my go to mixer.

Posted over 5 years ago by chad πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 17 ratings

Say you only have ten dollars on hand and you want to get something to lift your spirits? Your in luck. Calypso is about to do just that. At a relatively cheap price, you can rarely do better. You normally expect a horrid spiced rum at such a low price yet you'll be rewarded with a fine but basic tasting rum. Its nothing special but its not bad either. When swirled it has some nice legs. Better as an ingredient/mixer of course.

Posted 5 years ago by Patty πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating

We usually drink Admiral Nelson's Spiced Rum but our liquor store was out! Having tried all of the others and most tasted like cough medicine, went for something I hadn't seen before. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. It is very similar to Admiral, vanilla forward with a smooth finish. The flavor was a bit subdued but for the price, you can't go wrong.

Posted 8 years ago by Bill Gaylor πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 51 ratings

This is one of those times I tried to be adventurous and give a new rum a chance, in spite of my better judgement. I was surprised that it wasnt awful. The cheesy packaging worried me, but it wasnt awful. Just another average spiced rum that is a good value. Save it for the guy that everyone knows who can drink jet fuel and be happy.

Posted 12 months ago by Paul B πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 426 ratings

Back when I submitted three reviews for "trash" rums just to get my next badge, this was also one of those bought for this purpose, but it was never opened and reviewed. Well I opened it yesterday and to my surprise, it was not trash and sold for only $7 US per bottle. This is a pleasant tasting mildly spiced rum at only 70 proof from Louisville Kentucky that was probably imported from the U.S. Virgin Islands or Barbados.

Posted over 1 year ago by Craiglee πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 97 ratings

Picked up a bottle in Florida for an agreeable price. Not exactly bursting with flavour, but not much wrong with it. Great with coke and ice on a baking hot day.

Posted over 1 year ago by YohoYoho πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 11 ratings

This one hits with a lot of vanilla. Have used it mainly for mixing, not something I would normally drink straight. But considering I can get it for six dollars a liter, I’m not expecting a sipper. It does well in mixed drinks/rum and Coke’s. For mixing, at this low of a price, I feel it is perfectly acceptable and a good value.

Posted over 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 320 ratings

Really good value. Decent mixer. It’s ok. I think it might be better than the Captain or the Admiral.

Posted over 1 year ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 80 ratings

Burn and sink me this be an odd rum! On the nose, she smells sweet and fruity like apples - of all things! On the tongue, she be a little tart. The apple taste still be there, but barely, and there also be a powerful grassy taste to her. Not having hooves, I could not fully appreciate the grassiness of this rum. There be no real spices to speak of - unless "pepper grass" be a thing. Might this be a sippin' rum? I say no, but you could probably do worse. To put it another way, "mooooooo"...

Posted almost 2 years ago by BadgerRumFan24 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings

Do you like Captain? This is a slightly tastier and smoother version, and likely less expensive everywhere. Going to drink a few or more rum and cokes with a group? Bring this.




Brand Details

Name: Spiced
Company: Calypso
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
545
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514