Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

6.9/10
175 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
5
13
31
53
42
19
7

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

175 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Henrik Hansen 🇩🇰 | 63 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Sød rom med smag i den frugtagtige afdeling. Lang, sød og krydret bananagtig eftersmag.

Olivier 🇫🇷 | 2 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

absolutely out of our rum planet! Ok, aromas are obvious, but I would say they hit you and bring you down to an easy home made drink or open your mind to the craziest bartending or gastronomy experience!
cheers

Javaznenevim 🇨🇿 | 52 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Very interesting rhum to taste. Maritius, if I remember well, used to be French colony before being taken by UK. And it is notable in this rhum as well. Very nice bottle and presentation, but I still cant get rid off feeling that there is added sugar which isnt confirmed by producer. It is made from sugar can, not from molasses, so it is close to rhum agricole

Smell: Rich. Rich and unusual. Cococnuts, banana, almonds, marzipan, and some fruit that I am not able to recoognize. Sugarcane as well.

Taste: Tastes from half like typical agricole rhums, half like sweet elixir. You can taste the cane itself, but it is very very sweet. Marzipan and banana in taste, also some more fruit. Very good to drink on rocks. Nice combination and very original creation. But I definitely wouldnt recomend this to everyone, because even when this is unusual rhum, I think you can get better rhums in this price category. But you can give it a try in a bar.

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 140 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

When I first tried it, it was a bit of a WTF moment. Really not like most rums and I wasn't sure whether I actually liked it. I certainly didn't dislike it, but now the more I drink it, the more I love it, and this really is up there with my favourites. The notes of cane shine through, and I agree with the tasting note on the back about coco, vanilla and tropical scents. However I would add banana to that. I give it to (discerning friends) and some just sit there sniffing it. Definitely different, and so much the better for it.

Zeck 🇫🇷 | 61 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Notes de coco, banane, tonalités vanillées et une note finale boisée et épicée.
Je le sers plutôt en apéritif et son nez de banana Haribo fait toujours son petit effet :)

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Had just a sample of this Solera rum from Grays Distillery, Mauritius.
From nose via mouth and palate to the medium long finish sweet caramel dominates, but I also recognize fruits, bananas, ginger and hints of vanilla.
Overall much too sweet for me and nothing I can recommend.
Picture: My emptied sample poured in a glass.

gloamingdan 🇭🇺 | 8 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I might have got a wrong batch or something - but to my liking this rum is terrible. It has a nice colour to it, but the smell already give away that this is something I have never tried before. I gave this a chance because of some great reviews I have read, but it's way under the expectations. The taste has strong vanilla and coconut hints, also a touch of banana and chocolate.
You can also taste the barrel and this might be the problem. The one I got has this really penetrating moldy cellar-taste, which is really like the smell that you encounter in really old vine-cellars. The after-taste is lasting and it's really this moldy greasy aroma that sticks. I like to enjoy rum neat, but even after having it mixed with some juice it was horrible and this flavour persists. As I said, it might be a wrong batch and I might taste it somewhere else as well to compare, but based on the bottle that I have this was a huge waste of money. At least I'll have something to shock my rum loving friends with. I gave it a 3 because it's obvious that it was originally made with fine ingredients, but it's as good as it gets.

MielMoustache 🇫🇷 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I felt sick by this one. It tasted " chemical " for me because of the numerous aromas.

Eloi 🇨🇦 | 9 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Mmmmm, hard to say how I feel about this rum. The smell isn't so good, I feel like I smell chocolate and cofee, although I think I'm the only one. Then the taste is not that bad, to sip neat, but again, pretty different from other rums I tasted. I think it's good for rum lovers but probably not for everybody.

Vantu 🇨🇿 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

První dojem po otevření byl:"No ty voe, to je snad banánový likér." Ten první náraz banánů přímo do nosu si zapamatujete a pak tento rum bezpečně poznáte mezi ostatníma. Po chvíli jsme si zvyknul. Rum není úplně sladký jak by se mohlo zdát. Dá se příjemně usrkávat a hledat v něm nové chutě. Určitě je zajímavý, ale není to parťák na celý večer. Stačí jedna dvě skleničky a přejít na jinou značku. Jak plynul čas a blížil jsem se ke konci lahve, tak mi ty banány už ani nepřišly tak banánové :-) Musím si ho ještě někdy koupit, zajímá mě, jak bude chutnat když už vím do čeho jdu.

Libor 🇨🇿 | 6 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Jde o trochu odlišný rum než znám. Barva je tmavší. Vůně je hořká a trochu pálivá. Chuť je zprvu sladká, ale následně zhořkne. V dozvuku pak chutná po hořké čokoládě, mandlích a snad i pražená káva. Spíše připomíná likéry. Není to zrovna můj šálek kávy, ale jsem rád, že jsem jej ochutnal.




Brand Details

Name: Extraroma 12-Year
Company: Arcane
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading