Posting your rating...
Arcane Extraroma 12-Year rum

Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Mauritius | Aged

Arcane Extraroma is a 12-year old solera rum from Mauritius made from pure cane sugar and aged in French oak barrels.

7.0/10
159 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
5
8
28
51
37
18
8

Rate Arcane Extraroma 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

159 Arcane Extraroma 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

This 12 years old mauritian rum has been a true revelation for me: The nose is incredibly fruity and sexy.
The flavor in mouth is somewhat different. I would never have thought that a rum could have such a complex taste, very different from the original rum taste.
Definitely a rum that worthes to be discovered.
Edit April 25th, 2014: I've rediscovered this rum to the French "RumFest" that was held in Paris early April. Indeed this rum remains really surprising and completely distinctive. I've been told by the Arcane representative that aged cane sugar syrup is added to this rum. I don't remind in which type of cask the cane syrup was aged, but this is with no doubt at the origin of the originality of this rum. However this additive is not what I expect from an aged rum, so that I've reduced the note to 8.

Small arcan

Posted 4 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Sympaticky úsporné balení v temně zelené, téměř neprůsvitné láhvi s korkovou zátkou a dřevěným víčkem. Jde už od popisu (new vision of rum) o čistě marketingový produkt, ale navzdory bombastickému "extraroma" neobyčejně zdařilý.
Popravdě dlouho mě od něj odrazovala Hunterova recenze s Bari mandlemi, které si na rozdíl od něj pamatuji zcela přesně i z dospělosti a neměl jsem je rád, i když ve srovnání s jinými bolševickými hnusy (typu Slavia furé) byly ještě relativně přijatelné - a mimochodem nebyly obalené v kakau, ale v nějakém světlém pudru s maličkou příměsí kakaa a mandlové tresti; zbytek byla nespíš nějaká mouka.
Každopádně s Bari mandlemi nemá Arcane 12 naštěstí společného ani prd.
Jde o vskutku podivný destilát, chuťově připomínající spíše nějaký likér. Je asi dobře, že si nikdy nedozvíme, co všechno do toho potměšilí žabožrouti z Odevie přidávají. Výsledek je každopádně nejen originální (což není zas až tak velký problém) ale i velmi dobře poživatelný.
Ve vůni (obzvlášť to vyvstane u dopité skleničky) je dost výrazné maggi koření, jinak je mimo jiné poměrně ostrá a chemická, což je asi to, co jiným spolu s trochou ananasu asociuje bonbóny.
Chuť naštěstí nic syntetického neobsahuje - obával jsem se trochu, že půjde o banánovou verzi Pyratu. Problém pro mě zjevně je agricole rum - co mi vadilo na Barbancourtu, mi lehce vadí i tady, ale je to natolik převrstvené těmi extra aromaty, že to dá práci rozpoznat.
Ačkoli chuť je zde všemi označována za čistě sladkou, jsou v ní i výrazně hořké, až medicinální tóny. Jinak je v ní prakticky cokoli; zejména kombinace s Arcane Delicatissime z chuti výrazně vytáhne kokos. Pro jednopanákové "degustátory" mám ovšem smutné sdělení: každý panák v průběhu konzumace láhve chutnal úplně odlišně. Což byl pro mě zásadní důvod, proč ihned pořídit další flašku. A co víc - i u ni to pokračovalo. Všechny chutě, které si jen dovedete představit (krom Bari mandlí, ale třeba v páté či šesté butýlce najdu i ty).
Je to velmi vlezlé a návykové (mnohem víc než bych očekával), ale zatím pořád skvělé.
Po dopití druhé láhve jsem objednal rovnou celý karton. Cítím to ve všem a začínám se nebezpečně těšit na večer.
Obávám se, že jsem našel své arkanum...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Chouette rhum bien parfumé ! Les puristes du rhum agricole doivent s'abstenir car on vite penser que l'on a un peu forcé sur les arômes ... Mais bon, cela reste très agréable 😊

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by steve from Australia with 1 rating

Too much vanilla tones on the palate for me, not as great as what it was raved up to be. This is only after my first taste neat but a good rum does not need to grow on you it should be instant love for it. I will use it as a mixer rum and for the money we pay for a bottle in Aus $100 I would drink the Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva over this any day. It probably didnt help that I had high expectations for this but it didnt live up to more than a 7 for me.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 400 ratings

I had an idea of what might discover while tasting the rum but it's a good surprise. It is clear that the banana is very present and coconut flavors but the balance is correct. I even suprised to drink another glass ;-)
To be reserved for special occasion or can be used with dessert assiocation.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by LD from Italy with 34 ratings

Smell is not so great, banana, pastry cream... but the taste is unexpected. Advised!

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Thegouj from France with 10 ratings

Un Rhum sucré et fruité.Au nez effectivement on retrouve comme cela a été déjà dit la célèbre banane Haribo. On y retrouve également des notes de miel tirant même je trouve sur la cire d'abeille. En début de bouche on retrouve la banane, en milieu de bouche le miel se fait plus présent et accompagné de légères touches épicées.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by alcozl from Russian Federation with 11 ratings

The sweetest rum I've ever tasted. Unfortunately, too much sweetness obscures all other flavors. But, in general, a good rum to reflect on the meaning of life on long evenings.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Attila from Russian Federation with 1 rating

Disclaimer - I'm not a rum snob. Yet, I wanted to taste something better than Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva. I was willing to spend more for this, and arcane was about $72.

This one is better than Diplomatico! It has so unusual fruit, wood and something else aroma and extremely smooth fruit taste. Not something I'd expect from 12 yo rum.

Its about 30% more expensive than Diplomatico but it's a lot more fun experience. Absolutely great. Love it.

If you are not a rum snob but still want something new, try it.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by olivier vm from Belgium with 8 ratings

Very strong fruity/candylike smell/flavour in the beginning. I don't like that too much.. seems a bit artificial

Aftertaste is good and smooth though.

Won't buy this again

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Oleh from Ukraine with 21 ratings

Rich and interesting aroma. Fruit chewing gum, strawberry, sweet banana. Taste is not so good as nose but rich and not so strong. Aftertaste is soft and not so sweet, almost dry. Good sipper.