Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

7.2/10
193 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
36
64
54
23
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

193 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Uuukey 🇯🇵 | 15 ratings

1872年にキューバで誕生した『マツサレムラム』は、紛れもない豊かな味わいと、国で人気のラムとしての地位を確立し、1930年からの20年間に世界中に広まりました。しかしカストロ革命後、キューバラムの生産は中止され、製造を継続できるドミニカ共和国にその拠点を移しました。以後139年の歴史と共に、滑らかで美味しい秘伝の味を守り続けています。
優しい甘みと、後味をキリッとさせるドライ感が同居した極上の味わい。是非一度お試し下さい!

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings

First of all, the "23" is misleading. Years? I doubt it. For a rum that's supposedly been baking in wood in the tropics for a couple of decades, this rum lacks oakiness. Actually, it's not very complex at all. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable, either. I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bottle of this, when there are so many really compelling rums out there already.

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings

Given my "so so" expirence with the 15 year old little brother, I was surprised with this one. The nose is round with toffee, vanilla, orange, fudge and cherry's. The palette is sweet with butterscotch, vanilla, a bit of chocolate, marcipan, orange peel and some nuttiness. Though it's sweet, I don't find it too cloying as the lengthy finish is slightly earthy and tingling, upholding some order.

Posted over 1 year ago by Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings

It's fine as a mixer, although overpriced for that purpose. Not the best for sipping.

Posted 12 months ago by Jipla 🇧🇪 | 65 ratings

Nice but sweet tasting rum for a reasonable price. Not so sure about the 23 tho

Posted over 1 year ago by cogliatem 🇮🇹 | 10 ratings

Tasted alone is better. I tasted it with a top ruhm so I was influenced.
Many of us very satisfied by the room
Personally I give a 7

Posted 2 years ago by Neman3 🇨🇦 | 152 ratings

Solid havy bottle, gives me impression the content will last forever ).
Nice deep amber color.
Right from the bottle bites with alcohol on nose, but became not bad and attractive after standing for a while.
Thick and smooth, without hint of alcohol on palate.
WoW effect at the first sip. Hint of sweetness, something authentic.
Long lasting after taste.
Highly recommended (specially during quarantine period) )

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

Sugar: 5 GPL. It's says that it's a 23 year old rum but it tasted like a 13 year old rum. I didn't find much difference between this and the 15 year old version. If it's a solera rum there isn't much from the 23 barrel. I would pass on this and buy the much cheaper 15 year version.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pascal 🇨🇦 | 196 ratings

Au Nez il est complexe avec des notes de bois. En bouche on perçois aussi des notes boisées accompagnées de noisette et d’amandes grillées. La finale est longue, ce rhum est superbe. Semblable au zacapa 23 ans mais le zacapa est mieux. Tres bon, je le conseille.

Posted over 4 years ago by Token 🇳🇱 | 26 ratings

I had high expectations for this rum due to the good reviews. There is too much alcohol smell/burn than I expected for a rum in this price class. Even the taste failed, no long aftertaste and standard taste. Even after a half hour of breathing the alcohol taste was not gone. In 1 word: disappointed!

Posted 5 years ago by Chris 🇧🇪 | 100 ratings

I was a little bit disapointed by this Matusalem 23. It is not complex and no so different from its youger brother.
If I look at the price, I'll go for the 15 year for sure.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 23-Year
Company: Matusalem
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 23
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
558
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513