Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year rum

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-year rum is the premium version of the Matusalem company's rum, aged an average of 23 years and distilled from molasses using the traditional solera process.

7.2/10
196 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
11
36
66
55
23
3

Rate Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

196 Matusalem Gran Reserva 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 120 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Amazing nose, a creamy vanilla with hazelnut - one of the best out there. Smooth flavor of subtle vanilla and a little spice. Limited molasses comes through, almost a 'pure' taste... would have liked a little more to come through. The finish is strikingly long almost like a mild pop-rocks spice, quite pleasant.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

First of all, the "23" is misleading. Years? I doubt it. For a rum that's supposedly been baking in wood in the tropics for a couple of decades, this rum lacks oakiness. Actually, it's not very complex at all. Nothing offensive, but nothing memorable, either. I can't imagine ever needing to buy another bottle of this, when there are so many really compelling rums out there already.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Given my "so so" expirence with the 15 year old little brother, I was surprised with this one. The nose is round with toffee, vanilla, orange, fudge and cherry's. The palette is sweet with butterscotch, vanilla, a bit of chocolate, marcipan, orange peel and some nuttiness. Though it's sweet, I don't find it too cloying as the lengthy finish is slightly earthy and tingling, upholding some order.

Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

It's fine as a mixer, although overpriced for that purpose. Not the best for sipping.

Jipla 🇧🇪 | 77 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Nice but sweet tasting rum for a reasonable price. Not so sure about the 23 tho

cogliatem 🇮🇹 | 10 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Tasted alone is better. I tasted it with a top ruhm so I was influenced.
Many of us very satisfied by the room
Personally I give a 7

Neman3 🇨🇦 | 162 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Solid havy bottle, gives me impression the content will last forever ).
Nice deep amber color.
Right from the bottle bites with alcohol on nose, but became not bad and attractive after standing for a while.
Thick and smooth, without hint of alcohol on palate.
WoW effect at the first sip. Hint of sweetness, something authentic.
Long lasting after taste.
Highly recommended (specially during quarantine period) )

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Sugar: 5 GPL. It's says that it's a 23 year old rum but it tasted like a 13 year old rum. I didn't find much difference between this and the 15 year old version. If it's a solera rum there isn't much from the 23 barrel. I would pass on this and buy the much cheaper 15 year version.

Pascal 🇨🇦 | 196 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Au Nez il est complexe avec des notes de bois. En bouche on perçois aussi des notes boisées accompagnées de noisette et d’amandes grillées. La finale est longue, ce rhum est superbe. Semblable au zacapa 23 ans mais le zacapa est mieux. Tres bon, je le conseille.

Token 🇳🇱 | 26 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I had high expectations for this rum due to the good reviews. There is too much alcohol smell/burn than I expected for a rum in this price class. Even the taste failed, no long aftertaste and standard taste. Even after a half hour of breathing the alcohol taste was not gone. In 1 word: disappointed!

Chris 🇧🇪 | 100 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I was a little bit disapointed by this Matusalem 23. It is not complex and no so different from its youger brother.
If I look at the price, I'll go for the 15 year for sure.




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 23-Year
Company: Matusalem
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 23

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading