Pirate's Grog Golden rum

Pirate's Grog Golden

Honduras | Gold

Pirate’s Grog rum is produced in Honduras on the island of Roatan by blending various rums from around the Caribbean that have been aged up to 5 years in American oak casks.

The name ""Pirate's Grog"" heralds to the mixture of 90 proof rum and water known as grog, which was first rationed by Admiral Sir Edward Vernon to his ship's crew in the early 1700's.

7.0/10
47 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
11
11
8
5

Rate Pirate's Grog Golden

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

47 Pirate's Grog Golden ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 120 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Fantastic nose full of butterscotch, quite fruity, taste is clean with not many notes standing out - some light vanilla , almost no burn or spice. Short nice finish. I could imagine it would make a fantastic high-end mixer, as it is easy sipper as well especially considering the limited aging.

Steve πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 18 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is a clean clinical rum that ticks all the right boxes. For the price only a few can match it. Has enough flavour n aroma to impress for the age. Reminds me of Atlantico private cask. Nice bottle to.

Ellis πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 19 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

For a rum that is only 5 years old this really surprised me with its delicate flavours and complexity. Most importantly, it tastes delicious too!

Phil Stockton πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 2 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This rum is light yet full of flavour. Vanilla and raisin notes are apparent and the Jamaican pot still rum provides a warming finish. We love this rum neat as it goes down easier than anything else on the market!

Steven Richardson πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 124 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Really surprised how good this is. Not sure i know a better one for a rum and coke.

Rob πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 11 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is a must buy for me personally.
I recently received a bottle for Christmas and it's lovely. Smooth to drink and great on the nose, very very moreish.

Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 573 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

When you see the word grog, you imagine what the navy used to drink in a sloshed rum flagon... So it's a surprise when you get a rum that's delicious and lovely blend of flavours ... You can tell this is a blended rum but it is serious competition for more expensive rums

Greenlamp πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 2 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Very smooth with hits of caramel znd vanilla.
Much too good to drink with a mixer or kill the flavour with ice.
The only reason for only giving a nine is the hope of one day finding a rum that leaves me not wishing to search for anything better, to date I've tried a few that I would rate a nine and would be happy to drink any of them selecting purely on my mood at the time.

Sock πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 30 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

this rum sure has everything; fruitiness, spice, smoothness, etc. but there isn't something that stands out in particular, leaving it kinda bland. overall im slightly disappointed in this bottle, but for the price it's a must have for any collector!

Jk1989 πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 11 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

There's a few different versions of this rum but I think this refers to the pirates grogg 5 year aged rum.

Considering it's only 5 years it's got a fantastic and well rounded taste. The taste from the barrel really comes through and it really can be enjoyed as a sipping rum or alongside a simple mixer. I found it can really elevate a mojito for a refreshing summer drink.

Craiglee πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 97 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Haven't tried sipping this, because I'm not sure that's what it's for. Mixed with an ice cube and coke it's really quite good. Not one single flavour stands out, in a good way. Low on burn and sugar.




Brand Details

Name: Golden
Company: Pirate's Grog
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading