BRN Sea Wynde rum

BRN Sea Wynde

Multiple | Gold

BRN Sea Wynde rum is produced by blending 5 rums from Jamaica and Guyana. These rums are distilled using copper pot stills and aged in small oak casks.

6.5/10
17 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
3
6
1

Rate BRN Sea Wynde

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

17 BRN Sea Wynde ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This rum is not made any more and has become hard to find. The metalic medallion label gives it a very classy tough IMO.

It is a very potent, aromatic blend of pot-stilled rums and is not to everyone's palate. I would give it a higher rating except that I picked up a slight phenolic burnt rubber aftertaste, everything before that is outstanding. Smith & Cross is a similar rum which is much easier to find and I don't get that aftertaste. Also the S&C is substantially less expensive, at less than $30 vs $40 for Sea Wynde if you can find it.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 228 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Not to be served to the faint of heart, wallet, pocketbook and/or stomach! This is a strong rum that hits on the sweet but also the peppery heat that hits your throat and chest. Oak, vanilla, coffee, tobacco, baking spice, maple syrup and pepper characterize this rum. Can be enjoyed neat, however, better suited with a splash of water or ice cube to tone down the heat and immense flavors. If being used in cocktails, cut down the rum amount by half, if using Sea Wynde again due to the strength and flavor composition of this Navy strength rum.
I believe this rum was last produced in 2011-12, October, so if you can find a bottle pick it up! Expensive now and Very hard to come by now...

Martin Grönvall 🇩🇰 | 115 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Dufter hen af Whisky og brændt gummi

Smager også lidt af Whisky og cognac samt brændt mørkt chokolade.

Eftersmag, let sødme, mørk chokolade og mokka noter.

Steven James 🇬🇧 | 33 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Its difficult to get your head around it at first but it's a classic pot still flavour and I love it. Small doses, but as soon as the bottle is open, you know about. Similar to Pussers and certainly gave me more of an appreciation for Pussers 15 when I went back to it!

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

A Jamaica / Demerara blend with 46%. Let's see what we have here.

Smell: The first thing I notice is a Demerara smell. More precisely, this is a good PM smell. I smell some herbs, vegetal notes, integrated in vanilla and light honey sweetness. Melon, light wood, molasses in the background. The whole thing is rather very bright, like a typical PM.
Jamaica is too absent, but I'd guess a Clarendon or Worthy Park. I mean to recognize a little banana, that could be a WPL.
The next Navy rum that comes close to this is the Silver Seal by the way.

Taste: A bit thinner at the start, then the flavors from a PM come through. Light wood, light vanilla, melon, wood chips. It becomes a little salty and buttery towards the middle (which speaks for Clarendon), develops tannins and malt aroma, the tannins give bitterness.
The finish is sharp like a PM, with malt, some tannins and light wood.

Aftertaste: wood, vanilla, banana

Conclusion: The PM dominates this navy blend very strongly. Overall, it is light in its aromas. The dilution is only too strong at first. In any case, the name Sea Wynden is appropriate for a PM because it has salty notes.
It's not a real Navy for me, the sailors prefer darker rums according to contemporary witness reports. Overall, that's too much of a PM with a Jamaica aftertaste. The PM is actually quite passable and could even be rated as a bargain for around 50 euros.

Overall rating: 84 points

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruit: 2/5
Sharpness: 4/5
PL 50 €: 3.5 / 5

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

46% ABV. A blend of Jamaican and Guyanese rums. Very dry and smokey. Little bit of funk. Also, briny (like a sea wind???). Medium finish.

A really fun rum with rough edges and character. Sadly, this bottle has long since disappeared from the market; I fear it was a little ahead of its time. Today, it would be in high demand. An intriguing sipper, and a first-rate top-shelf “navy style” mixer (Punch, anyone?). 8+

Update: re-visiting it with less-tinted glasses, I do see that it is a bit light, young, and harsh. This could work as a premium mixer, and still boasts some industrial notes that are hard to find these days (and any days, really). With a few more years of ageing, this would really be special. Still, it holds a special place in my heart :) 8--

PTGarcia 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Given I don't care for Pusser's Rum either, it could be that I don't care for British Royal Navy style rums. Couldn't find a way to finish the bottle after trying it. That is not a problem I typically have...

Blacky 🇦🇹 | 85 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Buuuh! Thats a very strong one, doesn't taste like a rum

Jan 🇩🇪 | 1 rating
Posted 6 years ago

Ja, im ersten Eindruck hart, wahrlich , insbesondere im Vergleich zu sonst gängigen weichen Vertretern seiner Art.
Aber!, als Begleiter einer gepflegten Zigarre, mäßig in winzigen Schlücken ist er mir immer wieder lieb. Herb, rau, dunkle Schokolade, Holz und Rosinen . . wie in kalt-feuchter Nacht mit guten Freunden auf einer Klippe an einem Lagérfeuer sitzen, vorn Warm, der Rücken kalt, der Wind bläst einem niselige Seeluft und beißenden Rauch ins Gesicht . . manchmal einfach schön.

Scott 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

In all fairness, this was one of the first craft rums I tried. So while it comes off as abrasive to some, it was a great bridge for me to get into rum as a Scotch and bourbon drinker because it has strong oak notes, but also the unmistakable molasses sweetness of rum. Because it is still aged in part in pot stills near the sea, I feel as though the rum imparts the hard-to-describe, but pleasant taste of the sea and the Caribbean.




Brand Details

Name: Sea Wynde
Company: BRN
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading