Background Image
Preload image
Alleyne Arthur's Special Barbados rum

Alleyne Arthur's Special Barbados

Barbados | Gold

6.6/10
16 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
8
1

Rate Alleyne Arthur's Special Barbados

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

16 Alleyne Arthur's Special Barbados Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Patrick Schommer ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 13 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is a rum that was quite tatsty when used as a mixer. Nothing overpowering or harsh or offensive, just a fine rum to get the night going. I will keep some of this handy.

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

It's a scientific fact: most $12 rums are made with squirrel urine and cheap additives in big factories which sell the stuff to frat boys and frat girls all across the US, where it is drowned in soda pop and guzzled until everyone pukes, passes out and eventually wakes up embarrassed and on probation.

This stuff, on the other hand, is genuine Bajan rum produced by โ€“ drum roll โ€“ R. L. Seale, aka God. Sure, it's not magnificent, top-tier sipping rum, but it's better than anything else you can find for twelve bucks. This is the IKEA version of his Seale's Ten Year Old rum: nothing elegant, just good, honest, affordable-for-all product which does what it's supposed to do and nothing more. Decent rum.

nomad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 137 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

It's got that familiar Foursquare flavor of leather, tar, and bananas. Dry like the Sahara.

Good info from Capt Jimbo's site-

This is one of the oldest brands of rum in Barbados and is generally not exported. Only our atypical direct arrangement with Total Wine has allowed this brand of rum to the US market.

To your questions :

1. [pot or column] A blend of both (as all of our rums)
2. [basis] Molasses
3. [additives/flavorings] NONE !!!!! (as all of our rums)
4. [age] 2/3 year blend (making it older than 95% of the rums on the market).

Trust this helps.

Richard

Scott T ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 122 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Another bargain from Richard Seale and Foursquare, nothing fancy but a good solid basic rum at a price that puts it on par with the cheap stuff from Bacardi, which it puts to shame.

JeffBuck ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 80 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I'm ranking it the same as some of the other lower priced offerings from Foursquare (896, 10 Cane, Doorly's) but I prefer this as a mixer over them. This would be a good rum over ice on a beach.

Doug ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted almost 6 years ago

I have been to Barbados several times and enjoined the Mount Gay Rum served on the boats. This can't be their rum or some mis marked the jerry cans! I usually enjoy rum on the rocks but this gasoline mix has to be the worst excuse for liquor I have experienced. My lawn mower runs great on this stuff and I think it smells good with cut grass but, I can't drink it. I made the mistake of buying 6 bottles because I was so excited at the find. You can fool some of the people but, if you have been to the island and experienced the waters around and the peoples you will know this is not a true brew. Email me if you would like, I am in my 60s and have much experience as a world traveler (mostly Europe) Txtooltime@aol.com Please assign a designated driver to enjoy your parties!

popto17 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Picked this up for $13. 86 proof, blended, and no additives, straight from Foursquare Distillery. Itโ€™s a 10/10 for value. I imagine it is fantastic for mixing but havenโ€™t tried yet. Itโ€™s passable as a sipper but not recommended. Give it to your non-rum-fan friends so you donโ€™t waste the expensive stuff on them.

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 125 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I am willing to try anything from Foursquare and dishing out under $15 for this rum happened without much thought. This rum is nothing more than the top of the crap heap. It certainly is not awful but it is not good. perhaps it is a solid mixer. Worst Bajan rum I have had to date. Mixer at best.

Marnellp ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Good rum. Bone dry, not even a hint of sweetness here. Put this on the speed rail for all your basic mixing needs.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 471 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I finally got to try this very hard to find rum, thanks to Total Wine in Las Vegas. At 86 proof, it packs a wallop, so it is not a neat sipper. Adding ice cubes improves it tremendously by removing the burn and allowing one to taste just pure unadulterated rum. There is also no penalty the next day if one consumes too much as I did. I used it as a pain killer for a serious leg injury. I may not have been able to hike at all because of this, but at least I did not have to worry about rattlesnakes and scorpions as I remained hotel bound with quite a few new rums.

Update February 9, 2020: I finally got myself two more bottles of this fantastic pain killer. I now have an emotional attachment to it in memory of it being a great opioid free painkiller with no penalties the next day. I just had to test it neat in Glencairn glasses against my favorite budget rum, Don Q Anejo. The taste was very close, but due to the lesser burn from this one, it wins by a slim margin. I guess that means that my rating needs to jump up from a 6 to a 7. It also helps knowing that this one will soon be available nearby at the first Total Wine to open in my home state.

JackOrion ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Great choice for mixing on the cheap. Bottle at 86 proof which is a huge thumbs up in my book. And for the price You simply canโ€™t go wrong. R.L. Seale one of if not the best distillers of rum is offering an excellent budget rum here.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Alleyne Arthur's
Country: Barbados
Name: Special Barbados
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No