Captain Morgan Private Stock rum

Captain Morgan Private Stock

Puerto Rico | Gold

Captain Morgan Private Stock rum is produced from molasses and aged for over 2 years in ex-bourbon barrels before being blended with spices.

The Captain Morgan brand was created in 1945 and named after the famous pirate and eventual governor of Jamaica Captain Henry Morgan.The rum's original home was Puerto Rico with it was distilled by Seralles, but is now St Croix.

6.7/10
419 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
7
11
29
77
159
81
30
17

Rate Captain Morgan Private Stock

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

419 Captain Morgan Private Stock ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Fwittmeyer 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Never really tried this Rum until about a year ago and it for sure is a go to for me. When I think of Captain Morgan I think of the commercialized version which is not a real representation. This is more like what I would call Rum. Hints of Vanilla and Caramel . A great addition to the liquor cabinet. You wont feel ashamed bringing this one out.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

They didn't even try with this one. Someone poured a large bag of sugar into a barrel of semi-aged bulk rum, added some vanilla and baking spices, and called it private stock.

The stuff tastes like acid reflux. I would actually serve it to my worst enemy because, who else?

Dante De Rubin 🇲🇽 | 42 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is a excellent rum! Its not the typical Captain Morgan Rum.
The company made an effort with this excellent rum!

Justin 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

I've tried about 20 spiced rums and this is my favorite. Not too much vanilla, nor alcohol burn. This is what I reach for to drink neat, or with an ice cube. For mixing its very good but drunken sailor is my choice for mixing as it has a lot more vanilla ( a flavor I enjoy)

Wrongrider 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

There is always a bottle of Captain somewhere in my house and from time to time this one appears. It was a more elegant flavor than the original. Sip or mix it can be whatever you want.

Martin Jelen 🇨🇿 | 77 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

If you enjoy CM spiced gold, this will blow your mind.

Dany 🇨🇦 | 15 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This has to be the sweetest rum in my collection. Im not a big fan of Captain Morgan rums, for me they are bar rums. But this one is a great surprised, at this price point its a great sipping rum. If you are new to The rum scene this is a good entry level rum to start your collection.

Sammie 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I'm not going to write a long one here. I hope you like vanilla because Private Stock is a vanilla bomb of epic proportions. It's sweet with loads of sweet brown sugar and dark molasses notes. There is a but of a nutty goodness. I get lots of baking spice especially in the finish, mostly nutmeg and hint clove. Private stock is sweet spicy and easy to drink neat. I can see people mixing this but it's a waste. This is a sipper that tastes above it's price range.

NobleEskimo 🇨🇦 | 33 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Coming from a Captain Morgan product, this rum is quite enjoyable. Perfect spice flavour combined with a smooth finish, this one took me by surprise. I recommend it to most people who are trying to move away from the basic Captain or Kraken.

Tyler63horn 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

My favorite spiced sipping rum. Great on the rocks.

Vlado 🇸🇰 | 51 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Pre mňa je Private Stock veľké prekvapenie, myslím pozitívne. Je to veľmi pekná, silno korenistá zmes dvoj ročných rumov, s chuťou klinčekov, sladkej vanilky a prezretých hrozienok. Je neskutočne jemný a vyvážený. Je síce dosť sladký, ale mne to nevadí. Nevhodný by bol len pre milovníka suchého rumu, alebo s minimom cukru. Podľa môjho skromného názoru sa v tejto cenovej kategórii (niekde okolo 25€ za 1L) nedá absolútne nič podobné zohnať. Výborný je s kockou ľadu a s plátkom citróna. Kto nemal, nech vyskúša. Nemá to veľa spoločné s lacnejšími kapitánmi...=)