loading

Background Image
Preload image
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged | 40% ABV

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10
347 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
3
7
43
115
144
29

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

347 Zafra Master Reserve 21 Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This for me replaces Zacapa 23 as the top rum. The notes present from agging in bourbon barrels really show.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 378 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Představíme si 21 let starý panamský rum Zafra Master Reserve. Pojem Zafra pochází ze španělštiny a odkazuje na období, kdy se sklízí cukrová třtina. Na českých internetových obchodech se všude můžete dočíst, že tento rum “ uvedli na trh lidé, kteří stáli u zrodu a vývoje značky Zacapa“. Zdroj této informace asi nevystopujeme, ale obchody si tuto informaci houfně kopírují, přičemž se mi nepodařilo ani na zahraničních webech zjistit nic, co by tuto informaci potvrdilo. Krom toho, že tato informace je nejspíš blud, mám z ní i dojem klamavé reklamy. Pokud máte někdo informaci, která by spojitost se Zacapou potvrdila, rád svůj názor přehodnotím. Výrobcem Zafry je firma PILSA (Proveedora Internacional De Licores S. A.) a nejvýraznější personou, která za tímto rumem skutečně stojí, je master blender Francisco “Don Pancho” Fernandez Perez, který svou kariéru začal na Kubě, kde se v 70. letech vypracoval na ředitele Kubánského nápojového průmyslu. Ve své funkci pak pomáhal školit master blendery v lihovarech v zemích bývalého východního bloku, ale i v Kanadě nebo na Madagaskaru. Osvojil si i výrobní postupy při výrobě vodky v Polsku, whisky ve Skotsku a zkušenosti získával i z evropských vinařství. Na počátku 90. let pak působil jako master blender ve firmě Varela Hermanos, což je producent známého rumu Abuelo. Po této bohaté čtyřicetileté kariéře, ve věku již důchodovém, vytvořil Zafru Master Reserve, jako svůj doposud poslední významný počin.

Při testování jsem přímo srovnával s mým oblíbencem rovněž z Panamy, Abuelem 12y.
Barva:
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Nesmírně hluboká vůně, kde převládá káva s karamelem, a k nim se přidávají i cedrové tóny, známé z Abuela 12y. Abuelo je v aroma naladěno výš, Zafra je nejméně o 2 oktávy níž, mocnější a hřejivější. Skvělá vůně. (93 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku nečekaně nacházím jen minimální sladkost, svou suchostí mě Zafra překvapila. Dojem je těžký a přitom jemný. V dochuti se ozve opět cedr, výborně, to se mi líbí a zároveň to body vytáhlo, jinak by to za 89b. nebylo. Abuelo 12y je pro mě chuťově znatelně lepší a bohatší. (89 b)
Body: 91
Shrnutí: V přímém testu Zafra dokázala porazit Abuelo o jeden bod ve vůni, ovšem v chuti zaostala, a ani skvělá dochuť Zafry s tím už nic nenadělala. Přesto je to výborný rum, ostatně jako všechny čtyři, které jsem v minisériii testoval. Ať už se jednalo o nevšední a originální Arcane Extratoma, Zayu, která byla skvěle vyvážená, chuťově nejlepší z celé čtveřice pak Atlantico Private Cask, nebo nejlépe vonící Zafra Master Reserve, ani s jedním nešlápnete vedle a záleží na tom, co preferujete.

Charles M 🇬🇧 | 148 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I love this rum, but just wonder if it might not be even better if it hadn't spent quite so long in wood. The complexity and dryness from the oak is very appealing, and makes a welcome change to my preferred full rich, sweet fruit. The oak does tend to dominate a little too much, but the rum is smooth and complex if lacking a little length on the finish. But overall has a sophistication that most rums just don't have.

JoeFresh85 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted 1 month ago

Really great taste for the price! We don’t have it in Quebec so I bought one in Florida and do not regret! My go-to

dougw 🇺🇸 | 36 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

excellent flavor, complex with some whisky influence and very rich. Has some sweetness, but not too much, a nice balance between too dry and too sweet. To me its the best spanish style rum I've tried, I like it a bit better than Pasador de Oro Gran Reserve and Santa Teresa 1796, but just by a small margin. I'd like to rate it 8.5 if I could, but since I like it so much I decided to give it a 9 because an 8 wouldn't be fair.

Grubi 🇨🇭 | 3 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Un gusto perfetto nel suo equilibrio, finalmente il rum giusto per il momento di relax.

Ducote (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 40 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

One of my favorite day to day rums. Great sipped over a little ice.

Alfonso V 🇵🇪 | 1 rating
Posted 1 year ago

Smooth and sweet. Perfect only with ice. I bought it in total wine

Tuner99 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This is a nice, well finished rum that is an excellent sipper. Great lead for an evening of sipping with friends.

Robertkrause80 🇺🇸 | 17 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I lucked out here seasonally. The deep vanilla and orange and vanilla notes speak to the autumn stateside. ¡Viva Zafra!

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 125 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I have to go along with most others and give this a solid 9 . aroma for me was some raisins, vanilla. Either way I found it more aromatic than el pasador De oro gran reserve, which I really love. Really smooth taste. little burn and a tad sweet but certainly not in any way offensive. Extremely well balanced. The price did burn a little as it came to just over $60 with tax. So for $15 less I can get the el pasador de oro gran reserve or plantation XO. This rum is awesome but because of the price it will be a once in a while splurge. Drop the price $20 it it would be my go to rum every time.




Brand Details

Company: Zafra
Type: Aged
Raw Material: Unknown
Brand Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation Type: Unknown
Name: Master Reserve 21
ABV: 40%

Loading

Loading

Loading