loading

Background Image
Preload image
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged | 40% ABV

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10
347 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
3
7
43
115
144
29

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

347 Zafra Master Reserve 21 Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 70 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This for me replaces Zacapa 23 as the top rum. The notes present from agging in bourbon barrels really show.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 563 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This rum reminded me very much of El Dorado 21. In fact, I struggled to differentiate them in a blind tasting. Ultimately, the El Dorado 21 is a little better, but not by much (I'm rating them both the same). But at half the cost of the El Dorado 21, this is a bargain! It has oak, spice, honey, and tastes nice, though I'd prefer just a tad more sweetness.

Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 236 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Sugar: 15 gpl. This is a very smooth rum with tons of flavor. It's not overly sweet, has a nice burn and a great after taste. Bananas and caramel mixed with some Oak and smoke. At $50 per bottle it is a bargain. I put it in the same class as the Zacapa XO. Buy 2 bottles if you find it.

Lebowski (BASIC) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 24 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Quite nice. Smooth and tasty. Definitely will buy again if I see it.

P#wi πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 15 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

The first impression is interesting, but only the first. The second is already disappointing. It is true that the core of rum's aromas is noticeable, but the aroma is poor and not very aromatic. The taste is very flat, simple and extremely short. Leaves little behind. Although it is noticeably less sweet than I expected, it is difficult to find layers of aromas there. This is one of the weakest rums I have ever drunk. I honestly don't feel like going back to it. I can choose from many other and cheaper ones that are better. I am not satisfied with my purchase. It is a huge disappointment for me. I believe that it is not worth special attention. I am surprised by the amount of high marks. Everyone likes something else, but I don't understand why to like this one, because it offers little.

VikingXO (BASIC) πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 169 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

If you like sweet but not oversweet rums, with a good nose, bit wood and quite good semi long aftertaste. This might be the rum you seek. I prefer the 30 year over this as it has more taste and more complex in overall. With Zafra 21 you get a fine rum for a good price.

Taster πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 140 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Aged? Hmm...
Surprised to see all those top ratings here... I expect more character and body in a spirit of that age.
Nose: Spicy, sharp, dry fruits
Palate: Sharp, some chili and also some oak, but disappointingly poor in flavour and a quite short aftertaste (there is some afterburn, but only little to no aftertaste).

Joe T (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 18 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Light color, good aroma but taste wise, it’s a bit harsh for my palette. There are so many better ones than this. The 30 year was recommended but I couldn’t find it locally so I bought the 21 year old.
Was very disappointed for a 21 year old, found much better runs in some 12 year olds.

Freek Lambrechts πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 40 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum. Smells very good, first sip is excellent. Soft taste, lasts long. Excellent and maybe favourite sipper. Perfectly balanced!

Tomy πŸ‡·πŸ‡΄ | 439 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.

Ray πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 1 rating
Posted almost 8 years ago

for anyone looking for a Rum with a fine scotch feel nothing like the Zafra 21. Very smooth aged in bourbon casks. Great with cigars and extremely satisfying. Not as sweet as other aged rums which is a plus for scotch connoisseurs




Brand Details

Company: Zafra
Type: Aged
Raw Material: Unknown
Brand Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation Type: Unknown
Name: Master Reserve 21
ABV: 40%

Loading

Loading

Loading