XM Royal Gold 10-Year rum

XM Royal Gold 10-Year

Guyana | Aged

6.3/10
48 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
8
12
14
7
2

Rate XM Royal Gold 10-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

48 XM Royal Gold 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Quintin 🇬🇧 | 76 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Reminiscent of the El Dorado family of rums. It has a dark amber appearance, sweet caramel dominated aroma. The taste is sweet, smooth, caramel, honey, molasses and a slight oak barrel aftertaste. It's easily sipped and easy to like, especially at that price (UK). The sweet taste might put some off though.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 332 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but I will not say no if someone offers me a second tasting.

This rum is produced, by Banks DIH in Guyana, or more correctly blended and bottled cause they don’t own any cane fields or stills. In the former days they bought demarera rum from DDL nowadays they buy their bulk rum from Trinidad and Barbados.
It’s aged in former bourbon casks for 10 years and then finished for 6 months in former sherry casks.
The aroma is great and in the palate it’s more than OK, but the finish is weak and quite short.
I can recognize vanilla, fruits and in the palate a nice sweetness appear.
Picture: My Emptied Sample.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 520 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

This rum ok. I first tried it against the XM Supreme 15 Year, which I liked more, as that is a good, simple overall rum, while this seems to include more additives that add to the flavors.

Has a bit of a floral taste, with herbs, citrus, raisin, oak, leather, and butter.

Not bad, but not great to me.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 130 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Yes. The nose was by far the best part of this one. Dark fruits, some woodiness, and alcohol. The flavor confused me a bit with hints of sweetness from vanilla and some bourbon. The finish felt incomplete and fell short. Like the rating states “easily consumable in a bind.” That’s all I’ll say about this one.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 452 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Of all of the XM rums from Guyana, I chose this one to add to my order to justify the long trip to acquire two stellar rums.

This one is definitely dry and the demerara notes are basically absent. It also has quite a burn going down. I am no fan of the heavily sugared El Dorados that come from the same distillery, but now I see why they add all of that sugar. Stick with the El Dorado 8 Year for the right balance of added sugar and prices from Guyana.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A lot of alcohol on the nose that doesn't lay down in 15 minutes. Some wood and greased leather are there too and a hint of undefined dried fruits. On the palate the wood tastes more like cedar than oak, though the tannines are clearly oak, and some spices and herbs occur. More sweetened than I like but not so much that it becomes a liquid bonbon. Though just 40% the alcohol stayes prominently present the whole time.

When a sweetened rum gets a 6 in my book I like them quite a lot....

5xo (PREMIUM) 🇸🇰 | 294 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nothing interesting, dry wooden tannin taste of aged alcoholic beverage.

Terence 🇲🇾 | 56 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Creamy and woody notes. Fruity aroma of orange peel, honey and sweet spices.
On the first sip, toffee with bitter sweet flavor. It's then linger with nutty and creamy flavor.
Creamy finishing, with hint of citrus and sweetness of maple syrup.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 509 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Ein handwerklich gut gemachter Demerara Rum.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sehr kräftig und stark, Düfte von Holz, Leder, Vanille.
Im Gaumen auch sehr kräftig, Aromen von gebranntem Karamell, Früchte mit zarte Holznoten kombiniert.
Leicht süss und sehr lecker.
Im langen Abgang zuerst etwas Schärfe dann Vanillegebäck mit Fruchtsalat.
Eine Freude Ihn zu Trinken.

A well-crafted Demerara rum.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose very powerful and strong, fragrances of wood, leather, vanilla.
On the palate also very strong, aromas of burnt caramel, fruits combined with delicate wood notes.
Slightly sweet and very tasty.
In the long finish first some sharpness then vanilla pastry with fruit salad.
A joy to drink.

hyenik 🇨🇿 | 110 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

too young in comparison with similar El Dorado 12y. Harsher, not so round and balanced, I didn´t like so much.

Jimmie 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This offering has a nose of leather and burnt wood. The flavor profile has burnt wood, leather, and chocolate. It is not the most fantastic rum and keeps a burn all the way through the session. That being said it does have some shimmering positives to it.




Brand Details

Name: Royal Gold 10-Year
Company: XM
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 10

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading