Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Wood's 100 Old Navy

Guyana | Dark

7.2/10
77 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
7
29
16
11
5

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

77 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 10 months ago by rtbiscuit πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 16 ratings

Not the rum's fault, think I've got too used to sweeter rum's, found that it was a little too bitter for my liking. But my god is it strong, I did like elements of the molasses flavours but I had to mix it with a little water to find them.

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 324 ratings

Current bottling, 2017:
57% ABV (the original "100 proof"). Big nose of molasses, brown sugar, and vanilla. Very sharp. Drinkable neat, but very sweet. This would be great in eggnog. 6+, 7-

1960s bottling:
Semi-sweet chocolate chip nose. Some high notes but no ethanol. Smooth yet slightly prickly palate. Has an old/musty element. Very nice. 7, 7+ for rarity?

Posted over 3 years ago by Ted πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 5 ratings

This has all the connections and nostalgia that rum should have. When you drink this you could imagine you are out at see, or half way around the world.

You could imaging drinking it in a warm home with friends or when it’s freezing on a rooftop bar in a European city.

It’s dark, but not overly sweet, it packs a real punch but does not destroy your taste buds.

For me this is the definition of rum.

Posted 4 years ago by Bill πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 92 ratings

Surprised our Navy is so respected if they got on this before battle. Bugger me, it's lethal. But very tasty. Tried it neat and I admit I'm not man enough to do that again. Slapped some ice and pepsi in it.

Posted 3 years ago by Mark πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 8 ratings

A staple diet for every British sailor was pussers and woods.
It's like mothers milk to us old uns

The perfect Rum for toasts

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2886 ratings

Randomly found a rum bar in Paris and they had two different bottles of Wood's 100 Old Navy Rum. One was a regular run of the mill Wood's and the other one was bottled in 1980, so I just had to try both back-to-back. The newer version bottle and label looks boring whereas the 1980 bottle and design look properly old school. Both colors are identical, almost blackish reddish deep brown. Both have a strong engine oil and who knows what to the nose. Taste test is massively different. Regular bottle barely earns 7, whereas the 1980 bottle is much more mellow. They both have a rather strong afterburn due to 114 Proof. The 1980 earns a solid 8.

Posted over 4 years ago by Louis M πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 24 ratings

Closing my eyes while tasting this Rum I found it strong on the nose with a chocolate like aroma . It reminds me of a long ago dock ale house of the 18th century this is not a rum for the faint of heart but I like its strength. It is truly a Navy Dark when neat with a burn that is both pain and pleasure like a good hot sauce

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 4 years ago by Terence πŸ‡²πŸ‡Ύ | 56 ratings

Rubbery and earthy on the first sniff. Follow by dark chocolate, toffee, flambe banana, jackfruit and sweet spices such as anise and clove.
Very complex on palate. woody, earthy with a touch of burned/ charred aroma flavor.
It tends to be slightly sour and salty (dried sour plum with sugar dust) and follow with sweet bitterness towards to end. It's then covered with flavor of clove and honey syrup.
Unripe banana which itch the gum on the finishing and sweet spices lingering .

Posted over 3 years ago by Deezl πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 6 ratings

Wood's is a true classic and it's easy to see why sailors were upset when the tot was stopped if this was what they were drinking. This rum is exceptional value for money and a classic, using a recipe from 1887 and distilled in the world's oldest and only wooden still. I always have a bottle of this on the shelf and it's always gone far too quickly, this is easily my favourite rum in terms of cost effectiveness.

Nose and taste are predominantly toffee, caramel, Christmas pudding and similar flavours - all very pungent and long lasting due to the higher ABV of 57% (which is always great with rum).

If you haven't tried this yet you should seek it out immediately - a fine example of navy rum and Guyanese rum, using Demerara.

Posted over 3 years ago by knocker πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 1 rating

This is a first class rum in my opinion with so much flavour

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy πŸ‡·πŸ‡΄ | 439 ratings

Nose: Toffee, cinnamon, cloves and pepper spice on the nose with thick caramel notes.

Palate: Muscovado sugar, soft toffee and just a hint of the spice detected on the nose. This is very smooth, belying its hefty abv.

Finish: Surprisingly short but thick and syrupy toffee notes abound.

Overall: A rich, dark rum with a high abv that retains its smoothness. Would work well in a dark and stormy, despite the fact Wood's is distilled in Guyana, and not Bermuda.




Brand Details

Name: Old Navy
Company: Wood's 100
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
558
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
540
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513