Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Wood's 100 Old Navy

Guyana | Dark

7.2/10
78 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
7
30
16
11
5

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

78 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Gwawr šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 27 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Happy to consume in mixes

Steven Richardson šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 124 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Iā€™m not a navy rum fan usually, but i do like this one. Bags of flavour.

Martin Gisborne šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 20 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Great rum, found by accident in my local and loved it

Chris Edwards šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 20 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Being ex Royal Navy, this is an obvious favourite of mine. One of the first rums I ever tasted, and one I always go back to. Lots of layers of flavours, and one to savour.

Kamamura šŸ‡ØšŸ‡æ | 34 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The rum itself is very dark, almost black in the bottle, perhaps the result of aging in heavily charred barrels, but more likely a result of a liberal dose of the caramel coloring.

The nose is heavy and sweet, chocolate, a bit of cinnamon, pudding.

The palate is sweet and oaky, with smoky, slightly astringent, complex notes that gradually develop into a lasting, powerful, slightly spicy finish. Notes of cocoa, tobacco, muscavado sugar, leather, and banana. The mouthfeel is full and rounded.

This rum can be enjoyed on the rocks or with a splash of water, but excels as a mixer in Dark and Stormy, or even rum-based Old Fashioned.

William Ferguson šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 16 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

First to hit you is the strength at 57% this is serious rum. After the initial strength, you get wood and earthy flavour with demerara sugar, banana, toffee, dark chocolate coming through. Complex flavours and you can drink this as a sipping drink, however I tend to favour the Cuba Libre with Pepsi Max blends into an amazing strong sipping long drink.
Not too sweet and not spiced although hints of spices are to be found.
My mixing and everyday Rum of choice, partly down to the flavour and the affordable price range.

Ben šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 1 rating
Posted almost 5 years ago

Picked up on offer in the UK.

Off the bat there are deep toffee and caramel scents and upon further tasting the woody, smokey flavour develops. Ends with a quite surprising Christmas pudding flavour which is absolutely delightful. Very enjoyable, and made me smile a great deal.

A great choice and was impressed by the presentation and complex flavour.

Read a little about part of the rum being stilled in a 250 year old still, interesting.

Would absolutely recommend.

Chris L šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 77 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Surprisingly smooth for a 57% rum, but with a warm finish, good for a winters eve

YMHC šŸ‡³šŸ‡± | 162 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Typische Demerara rum uit Guyana. Molasses, eiken, tofee en rozijnen. Gebotteld op 57%abv maar zeer geschikt om te sippen. Goed voorbeeld van een navy rum.

Bazza Bones šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 4 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Very strong tasty earthy rum my favorite one. I always mix it with a little Pepsi, just enough to get the right flavour but not enough to loose the strong taste of the rum. You need respect the strength of it as it can creep up on you and make you a little unsteady :)

Shane Hadley šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ | 21 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Wood's is the only Demerara navy rum still bottled at 57% AB, the original strength served on British Navy ships. Strong from the start, hits you like a train and doesn't let go. Brown sugar and thick toffee notes. Not to be taken lightly




Brand Details

Name: Old Navy
Company: Wood's 100
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading