Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Vizcaya Cristal rum

Vizcaya Cristal

Dominican Republic | Light | 40% ABV

8.0/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
11
5
5

Rate Vizcaya Cristal

Tap to Rate

26 Vizcaya Cristal Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 70 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is by far the best white rum available! The aroma was slightly sweet, and it was very clean on the palate. It's a shame that more people don't carry it. Only white I can label as sipping quality.

Bob ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Very smooth and sweet smell and taste. Iโ€™m presently surprised and pleased.One of my top two silver favorites.

JimS ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 4 years ago

This Cuban Formula Rum makes the most delish daiquiris. You have to try this

jazz.tomtom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Clear Vanilla flavors, my preferred bottle to have a rum and coke with. Iโ€™m sure itโ€™s good in more complicated cocktails but itโ€™s powerful flavor really compliments a two ingredient such as the rum n coke.

scallywagg444 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

It really has a great taste and aroma - vanilla and marshmallow are strong. I drink my rum neat, and this was a tasty treat. Maybe overly sweet, but still good. I was a skeptic because others who like this liked the Plantation 3 Star (bleh), but this was much, much better. This rum does not have that syrup-thickness to it, but it does have added (dosed) sugars (and possibly other after distillation flavors, but the vanilla tastes real to me). I'd give it a 9, but I can't with the added sugar, sorry (not sorry) rest of the world, I am holding rums to the standard of Jamaica, Martinique, Barbados where I don't like after distillation flavors added.

Ruud ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 5 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is an exceptional white rum that tasted blind will pass for any aged rum. Scents of Vanilla and species with some chocolate. Very smooth in the palate and no alcohol afterburn. Maybe a little too sweet but still very enjoyable A white to be sipped neat. A 9 in comparison with other white rums.

Mephisto ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 39 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Nose: A lot of vanilla, icing sugar and biscuit, just like liquid vanilla crescents :-)
Body: Starts smooth and increases in intensity. Vanilla and white sugar again. Very sweet follow by a gentle bitterness. Very good and intense, but not very complex. Nevertheless some good stuff.

chad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 17 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

It's no joke that this is one of the better white rums.. Period. While I see that it's listed here at about $30.00, I was able to purchase it for $18.00. From my understanding it is not a big seller her. Much to my surprise. With a crisp taste that goes down with a slight burn. It's quite invigorating.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 257 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I usually shy away from the white rums, but saw this at a small liquor store and it was the only one I had not tried before. While a little strong over ice, when mixed with coke it certainly worked for me.

Butch (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

At first sniff, this white rum doesnโ€™t seem like a white rum!

This is smooth and delightful! Loadd with character.

Vanilla, possibly honey flavors.

I am a fan.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 472 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I would like to thank fellow reviewer "james Ford" for his 10-star review to inspire me. So why the lingering doubt? I already had found enough of the perfect white rum mixers and nothing could top Plantation 3-Star Artisinal for a white sipping rum. Until now!!!!

I first did a side by side taste test against Matusalem Platino, since both are from the Dominican Republic and I have rated the Matusalem fairly high at a 6. No contest! The Vizcaya Cristal actually makes Matusalem Platino taste medicinal when compared. Instead, Vizcaya Cristal has no repulsive aroma or taste, but has an absolutely wonderful aftertaste that is different each time! Chocolate one time and vanilla another, then cinnamon. How on earth do they do it? Original Cuban Formula!

I just had to compare this side by side to my only other white rum worthy as a sipper, Plantation 3-Star Artisinal. I will rate Vizcaya Cristal as a 7 equally with the Plantation. Both are fantastic sipping white rums at the top of their class, but not quite up to the level of their darker competitors. Basically, if you want tropical fruit flavors, pick the Plantation. If you want chocolate, vanilla, cinnamon, and other surprises, pick this Vizcaya Cristal.

Update October 1, 2021: Two months ago, I found two bottles of these white rums for $25 each locally. I hoarded them since they are so hard to find. Well, it came time to make a daiquiri with the last six ounces left in the first bottle. It tasted awful and I at first thought that I added too much lime juice or that it had deteriorated in the bottle, which is indeed very rare for a white rum. Wrong! I then opened the second bottle to sip a very small amount neat. Same lousy taste! I must have gotten a bad batch on both bottles. Regardless, I had no choice except to lower my initial rating of 7 down to a 6. I can no longer recommend this white rum.




Brand Details

Type: Light
Company: Vizcaya
Country: Dominican Republic
Name: Cristal
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
Loading...