Posting your rating...
Velho Barreiro Gold rum

Velho Barreiro Gold

Brazil | Gold

4.9/10
12 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
3
4
1

Rate Velho Barreiro Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Velho Barreiro Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Aiden from United States with 14 ratings

Cheap, good tasting cachaca with only one downside: The smell. Maybe I got a bad bottle, but my wife couldn't drink the caipirinha I made with this (it's normally her favorite cocktail) and I had to really struggle to finish mine. The penetrating alcohol smell is so strong, it even seeps into the cocktail. It could be better in a cocktail with more liquid ingredients, like a batida, but I don't have the patience to test it because there are better cachacas out there which cost just a little more.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

It's not a bad product for the really fair prize but it's not good either. It's both too thin and too alcoholic tasting at the same time. But at around 13€ for a one litre bottle beggars can't be choosers.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Very cheap.and not to bad for a Cachaca. Good mixer

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by kai from Germany with 9 ratings

usually in Germany you get Pitu when ordering a Caipirinha. So usually one sould avoid this cocktail. The Barreiro is also common. If this one's offered then go for the Caipirinha!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 49 ratings

Nose: Alcohol
Palate: Alcohol
Aftertaste: Alcohol

This is a very bad industrial cachaça.
I do not recommend even for a mix.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this during a tasting seminar at Cardiff Rum Festival last weekend.

It's fresh and light but Cachaca isn't for everyone.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav Vlasák from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Byl mi prodám jako rum a až později jsem zjistil, že to vlastně ani technicky rum není, vůně nevýrazná, chuť neurazí ale ani nenadchne.

Small stl177468

Posted almost 5 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

Rich fresh sweet taste in this cachaca, together with reasonable price tag, makes this one almost unbeatable binge drinking Caipirinha master. If you need great Caipirinha mixer, this is your guy.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 487 ratings

This is rum that is just rum, no added flavour just pure rum... Decent on the rocks not a sipping rum it's a harsh one

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Please disregard the reviewer who says rum is only made from molasses, there are many rums made from sugar cane. This is of course a cachaca, sometimes called Brazilian rum, and is somewhat difrerent from most agricole (cane juice) rums.

This is an industrail cachaca intended mostly for making drinks such as Caiparinhas. At about the same price as Pitu it is much better, and probably somewhat better than Ypioca crystal which had been my go-to mixing Cachaca.