Posting your rating...
Velho Barreiro Gold rum

Velho Barreiro Gold

Brazil | Gold

4.9/10 (9 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
3
1

Rate Velho Barreiro Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 Velho Barreiro Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7b3a0f33a33da6e9b642b531a4abfb37.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 days ago by kai from Germany with 9 ratings

usually in Germany you get Pitu when ordering a Caipirinha. So usually one sould avoid this cocktail. The Barreiro is also common. If this one's offered then go for the Caipirinha!

A164b169e2ce5a4f2faeaf91df06dadd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 46 ratings

Nose: Alcohol
Palate: Alcohol
Aftertaste: Alcohol

This is a very bad industrial cachaça.
I do not recommend even for a mix.

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this during a tasting seminar at Cardiff Rum Festival last weekend.

It's fresh and light but Cachaca isn't for everyone.

186a2d33c2147a2181e9240de9e995fc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Václav Vlasák from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Byl mi prodám jako rum a až později jsem zjistil, že to vlastně ani technicky rum není, vůně nevýrazná, chuť neurazí ale ani nenadchne.

9dd3124ef03cf6997545b601067a259e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Rich fresh sweet taste in this cachaca, together with reasonable price tag, makes this one almost unbeatable binge drinking Caipirinha master. If you need great Caipirinha mixer, this is your guy.

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 409 ratings

This is rum that is just rum, no added flavour just pure rum... Decent on the rocks not a sipping rum it's a harsh one

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Please disregard the reviewer who says rum is only made from molasses, there are many rums made from sugar cane. This is of course a cachaca, sometimes called Brazilian rum, and is somewhat difrerent from most agricole (cane juice) rums.

This is an industrail cachaca intended mostly for making drinks such as Caiparinhas. At about the same price as Pitu it is much better, and probably somewhat better than Ypioca crystal which had been my go-to mixing Cachaca.

A1d428b03cffaa5e08e3a42cccef91ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rogerio from Brazil with 1 rating

Cachaça is made of sugar cane but it's not rum!
Rum is made of molasses and cachaça is made of sugar cane juice.
Completely different drinks. Different tastes! While in cachaça you feel the taste of sugar cane among other flavors from wood barrel in rum you don't have the sugar cane flavor.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Cachaca (výslovnost [ˌkaˈʃasɐ], počeštěně [kašasa]) je brazilský národní alkoholický nápoj, jenž je velmi často přirovnáván k rumu. K výrobě se používá zelená cukrová třtina. Cukrová třtina se nejdřív lisuje, pak se nechává kvasit a nakonec prochází destilací. Nejkvalitnější druhy se nechávají dozrávat v sudech.
Slangově se Cachaça nazývá pinga, caninha nebo aguardente.
(Wikipedie)

Alkohol: 39 %
Původ: Brazílie
Aroma: Tohle s rumem, který znám, nemá vůbec nic společného. Připomíná mi hodně peckovou slivovici, spoustu jadérek, snad paraořechy a mandle. Vůně je i trochu laková. Je to dost nezvyklé, ale nemůžu říct, že by to bylo špatné. (72 b)
Chuť: Dost medová chuť, má v sobě i něco z grappy. Dost sladké, dost jemné (čekal jsem hrubší výraz), v dochuti mandle a jadérka z peckového ovoce. (74 b)
Body: 73
Shrnutí: Do koktejlů to asi bude OK, na samotné popíjení mě to moc nezaujalo, i když zkušenost je to zajímavá. Ochutnal jsem vzorek zakoupený v českolipském baru Dno pytle 2.