Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


419 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 6 ratings

N. I. C. E. R. U. M

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Not a rum for beginners or for all palates. Very dry, smokey, leathery. I am sure it would be a great rum with a cigar, but I am not a smoker.

For the $20 I paid, I wish I had grabbed a couple more. When I tried, it had sold out.

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

There are toffee and sweet brown sugar aromas, but the rum doesn't smell overly sweet. There is also the slightest hint of oakiness. There's a nice light sweetness to the rum initially and a touch of oaky bitterness which then fills your mouth with toffee. Not very complex at all but its tasty. More of a mood rum for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dave_Petrik from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Velice nádherná vůně čokolády a tabáku. Chuť jemná a výtečná. Poměr cena/výkon, vynikající. Tento rum bych doporučil vážně každému.

Posted over 5 years ago by Steve from Canada with 3 ratings

I first had this in punta cana and absolutely loved it. i started having friends pick me up a bottle when visiting the dominican. The odd time the LCBO carries it in hamilton. I prefer this straight up or on the rocks rather than in a mix or rum and coke. Out of a dozen rums in my liquor cabinet, this is the one i reach for after a long day at work.

Posted over 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Excelente ron, muy por encima de otros premium en cuanto a relación calidad/precio se refiere. Es un ron con un dulzor agradable, no raspa y con un final afrutado y caramelo. Para tomarlo solo con hielo.

Posted about 3 years ago by Adrian from Romania with 26 ratings

Desi culoarea e de rom dark gustul e de rom golden. Gustul si mirosul se amesteca fara ca vreunul sa fie pregnant cu exceptia celui de alcool.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Schöne Flasche und sogar Nummeriert. (Nachbewertung vom 28.12.2018)
Tja, auch schon das beste an diesem Ron. (Nein)
In der Nase fruchtig und etwas bissig. (Relativ dezent, Karamell, Kakao, Leder, Früchte, nicht bissig)
Im Gaumen doch etwas zu flach, Trockenfrüchte, Toffee, Leder. (etwa so)
Nicht so süss. (jawohl)
Abgang schwach.
(Gutes Preis/Leistung Verhältnis für Einsteiger.)

Beautiful bottle and even numbered.
Well, even the best thing about this Ron.
a slightly fruty and biting nose.
On the palate, a bit too shallow, dried fruits, toffee, leather.
Not so sweet.
Weak in the finish.

Posted over 3 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Worthy to try. Not to much sweet.. caramel flavours.. a bit smokey.. Very easy to drink..

Posted over 3 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.

Posted about 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

This is a surprisingly good rum. I didn't have high hopes reading the ratings and knowing I prefer a sweeter rum, but this one is good.

Nose for me is brown sugar and oak, while the taste is more smoky and long finish. Slightly spicy, bitter, and tart, but not overpowering. Slightly one dimensional without new flavors surfacing after the initial sip, I wonder if 3-5 more years of cask aging would really have improved this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Average sweetness and quite easy. Fruity taste with oak/wood, some coconut and honey.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Vítejte u další recenze, tentokrát se jedná o vlajkovou loď firmy Ron Barceló z Dominikánské republiky, dodávané v krásné elegantní lahvi o obsahu 0,7 litru a 38% alkoholu. Zrál nejméně 7 (některé zdroje uvádějí 8) let v sudech z amerického dubu.

Aroma: Výrazná vůně kůže a tabáku, čokolády, nasládlost se potkává se zemitostí.
Chuť: V chuti neobyčejně uhlazený, sametový, lahodný, plný a rozinkově nasládlý.
Když budu hodně přísný, líbila by se mi větší výraznost dochuti, je na můj vkus příliš jemná.
Shrnutí: Tento rum jsem podrobil opravdu náročným testům :-) , srovnával jsem s celou řadou rumů, které se u mě sešly. A patří k tomu nejlepšímu, co jsem poslední dobou ochutnal. Stroh 40, Abuelo Añejo, Matusalem 15y, ti všichni zůstali ve stínu Imperialu, jediný rum, který dopadl ještě lépe, byla Angostura 1824, ale tam už jsme v úplně jiné cenové relaci. Imperial seženete už kolem 550,-Kč, takže další muzikant, který vám zahraje hodně muziky za málo peněz.
Přijde mi, že mi s každou další přechutnávkou chutná víc a víc. Výraznější dochuť by z něj udělala supernovu...
Body: 89

Posted 13 days ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Good for walking over forests with friends and backpacks

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

'A limited edition bottling of Ron Barceló, created in celebration of 30 years production. Every year since 1980, Miguel Barceló has set aside private reserves of his rum for two extra years of ageing, and has used these to create their Imperial Premium Blend.'

It's rich, dark and chocolatey with dried fruit and hints of sherry, a superb sipper!

Posted about 2 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A great tasty rum. Not so spicy but taste compensate the lack of spices. A bit costly.

Posted about 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Not my favourite. Not very Sweet, but a nice flavour

Posted about 3 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

A very pleasant sipper. Not nearly as strong tasting as it's aroma suggests. Smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Efstathios from Greece with 6 ratings

Μπήκα σε μια κάβα με διάθεση να δοκιμάσω κάτι διαφορετικό το μάτι μου έπεσε σε αυτο το ρούμι. Παω σπίτι βάζω ένα ποτήρι... ήπια τρεις γουλιές πόλυ σκληρό για τον ουρανίσκο μου ευτυχώς την επόμενη μετα η σύζυγος μου με ενημέρωσε ότι έσπασε το μπουκαλι

Posted over 3 years ago by Maarten Jan from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A colleague of mine gave me this rum as a present.
I must say the way the rum is presented (design, color of the rum) did make me expect a whole lot. But, although it's a tasty rum, it's not very special.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jim from Canada with 10 ratings

A gift of this pushed me back into the world of fine rums, a superb standard.

Posted over 3 years ago by christophemahy from Belgium with 2 ratings

Un des premiers rhum gouté lors de mon séjour en république Dominicaine. j'ai vraiment aimé son goût et c'est grâce à lui que je souhaite connaitre d'autres bon rhum.

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

I decided to try this Dominican rum and the takeaway is quite good. Not too sweet, quite smooth and enjoyable. Bought it in NYC as we do not have this kind in PA. Very nice for the price.

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Good rum but nothing special. Very easy to drink, quite oaky but it doesn't give you much else to sparkle the mind...

Posted about 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

Rhum à cocktails, avec du coca ou en mojito mais pas sec.