Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.9/10 (428 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
24
91
161
115
18
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


428 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Let's get the stupid stuff out of the way first. I find it interesting that the way the bottle is shaped and the thickness of the glass makes for a chiming rhythmic sound when you hold it with two fingers by the neck (just below the lip) and drum on the plastic cap. BTW, the plastic cap and the artificial "cork" are one of the few detrimental elements of this rum. It is a tight fit and I've read more than one complaint of people having the cork break apart from the plastic cap when attempting to uncork the bottle. That element of cheapness should not be present in a rum that costs $40+.

I'm easily amused.

Anyway, this rum is somewhat paradoxical for me. Very little odor in the bottle and the flavor is equally as subtle. Not sweet but really not dry either. Has some woodiness to it. I don't know how they achieved this. I don't mean this has no flavor or character because it has both but from all the rums I've sampled thus far this one is arguably the best balanced one of them all. It would make for a good sipping rum as well as a good mixer. It won't overwhelm mixed drinks but instead complements what is used whether is be fruit based, coffee, frozen or just in a cola. Definitely a "must have".

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Not a rum for beginners or for all palates. Very dry, smokey, leathery. I am sure it would be a great rum with a cigar, but I am not a smoker.

For the $20 I paid, I wish I had grabbed a couple more. When I tried, it had sold out.

E7ac1fab3044bb9853941a494a8ede97.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

There are toffee and sweet brown sugar aromas, but the rum doesn't smell overly sweet. There is also the slightest hint of oakiness. There's a nice light sweetness to the rum initially and a touch of oaky bitterness which then fills your mouth with toffee. Not very complex at all but its tasty. More of a mood rum for me.

D0c502d8b18089b63b5f2572f5fe0a29.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Dave_Petrik from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Velice nádherná vůně čokolády a tabáku. Chuť jemná a výtečná. Poměr cena/výkon, vynikající. Tento rum bych doporučil vážně každému.

3b696b0d5335033c236dd8f2f46ac85f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Steve from Canada with 3 ratings

I first had this in punta cana and absolutely loved it. i started having friends pick me up a bottle when visiting the dominican. The odd time the LCBO carries it in hamilton. I prefer this straight up or on the rocks rather than in a mix or rum and coke. Out of a dozen rums in my liquor cabinet, this is the one i reach for after a long day at work.

902fee7de3e328f5bb5fd7d87554a663.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Excelente ron, muy por encima de otros premium en cuanto a relación calidad/precio se refiere. Es un ron con un dulzor agradable, no raspa y con un final afrutado y caramelo. Para tomarlo solo con hielo.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Vítejte u další recenze, tentokrát se jedná o vlajkovou loď firmy Ron Barceló z Dominikánské republiky, dodávané v krásné elegantní lahvi o obsahu 0,7 litru a 38% alkoholu. Zrál nejméně 7 (některé zdroje uvádějí 8) let v sudech z amerického dubu.

Aroma: Výrazná vůně kůže a tabáku, čokolády, nasládlost se potkává se zemitostí.
Chuť: V chuti neobyčejně uhlazený, sametový, lahodný, plný a rozinkově nasládlý.
Když budu hodně přísný, líbila by se mi větší výraznost dochuti, je na můj vkus příliš jemná.
Shrnutí: Tento rum jsem podrobil opravdu náročným testům :-) , srovnával jsem s celou řadou rumů, které se u mě sešly. A patří k tomu nejlepšímu, co jsem poslední dobou ochutnal. Stroh 40, Abuelo Añejo, Matusalem 15y, ti všichni zůstali ve stínu Imperialu, jediný rum, který dopadl ještě lépe, byla Angostura 1824, ale tam už jsme v úplně jiné cenové relaci. Imperial seženete už kolem 550,-Kč, takže další muzikant, který vám zahraje hodně muziky za málo peněz.
Přijde mi, že mi s každou další přechutnávkou chutná víc a víc. Výraznější dochuť by z něj udělala supernovu...
Body: 89

4bec55f8e6faadf3a27fcc8b140210d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Adrian from Romania with 26 ratings

Desi culoarea e de rom dark gustul e de rom golden. Gustul si mirosul se amesteca fara ca vreunul sa fie pregnant cu exceptia celui de alcool.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 355 ratings

Schöne Flasche und sogar Nummeriert. (Nachbewertung vom 28.12.2018)
Tja, auch schon das beste an diesem Ron. (Nein)
In der Nase fruchtig und etwas bissig. (Relativ dezent, Karamell, Kakao, Leder, Früchte, nicht bissig)
Im Gaumen doch etwas zu flach, Trockenfrüchte, Toffee, Leder. (etwa so)
Nicht so süss. (jawohl)
Abgang schwach.
(Gutes Preis/Leistung Verhältnis für Einsteiger.)

Beautiful bottle and even numbered.
Well, even the best thing about this Ron.
a slightly fruty and biting nose.
On the palate, a bit too shallow, dried fruits, toffee, leather.
Not so sweet.
Weak in the finish.

495ca1474b489fdaf0c582e312e2123b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Worthy to try. Not to much sweet.. caramel flavours.. a bit smokey.. Very easy to drink..

5f97a13fbf6ef970976f8b3342f9dc7c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.