Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
510 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
30
115
196
129
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

510 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Det var denne rom, som startede min interesse for rom.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

...it's not bad at all but I'm not into this kind of flavour profile, also, it enters your mouth with much attention but then it disappears very fast with a spicy finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott from United States with 1 rating

This is a very versatile rum that with a big suprise in flavor. Good on the rocks or neat it also mixes well with tonic or coke. I've gone all up and down the spectrum and this rum fits many needs. For a sipping rum I lean to Zacappa XO but Barcelo is a moderate price and well worth it. Without question it is my "go to" rum. While I can't get in Michigan I find DrinkUpNY is easy to deal with.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

Appearance: Cherry color
Nose: Cocoa, lemon, oak, some citrusy scents
Palate: Warm and rich

One of my top go-to rums. Voted best rum in the world by the BI 2000, 2001.
Definitely something to try, and the price is fantastic!

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by cyryl from France with 5 ratings

Distillerie : Barcelo
Provenance : Saint Domingue, République Dominicaine

Rhum de tradition espagnole, le rhum Ron Barcelo Imperial est issu d'un assemblage de rhums âgés de 4 à 11 ans.

Sa robe est ambrée, légèrement fauve.

Le nez est assez riche ; on relève des notes fauves assez puissantes, du caramel et une pointe de vanille.

En bouche ce rhum est toujours aussi caramélisé, l'attaque est moelleuse mais puissante et très "sec" et boisée ; on retrouve au palais la vanille, des notes assez dures de cuir, des épices.

Le finale est tout aussi sec et puissant, limite austère.
Ce rhum est sans aucun doute un rhum de caractère (boisé à souhait), avis aux amateurs...

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 67 ratings

The Ron Barcelo Imperial, is a very dark and woody rum with very strong oak aromas but also coffee, nutmeg and vanilla notes.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by MMihran from Canada with 27 ratings

Not my kind of rum, too dry

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Sly from Canada with 44 ratings

Love this bottle

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

A smokey woody rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by El Toro from United Kingdom with 31 ratings

Far too dry and woody, reminds of Brugal to which I'm also not a fan.

Ffffff

Posted almost 9 years ago by kilderkin from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Nice enough rum. Quite dry with a lot of oak coming through (maybe too much)