Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10(476 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
27
104
179
126
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

476 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Schöne Flasche und sogar Nummeriert. (Nachbewertung vom 28.12.2018)
Tja, auch schon das beste an diesem Ron. (Nein)
In der Nase fruchtig und etwas bissig. (Relativ dezent, Karamell, Kakao, Leder, Früchte, nicht bissig)
Im Gaumen doch etwas zu flach, Trockenfrüchte, Toffee, Leder. (etwa so)
Nicht so süss. (jawohl)
Abgang schwach.
(Gutes Preis/Leistung Verhältnis für Einsteiger.)

Beautiful bottle and even numbered.
Well, even the best thing about this Ron.
a slightly fruty and biting nose.
On the palate, a bit too shallow, dried fruits, toffee, leather.
Not so sweet.
Weak in the finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

This room is the best for me. Very good smell and testy, men's character, good with smoke, absolutely not for short drinks, and don't have difficult test but it the best for all what I have tested. Recommended to buy

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Det var denne rom, som startede min interesse for rom.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Best Dominican rum I've had so far. Nutty, smooth, rich and lingering.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

Yes!
Granted that I prefer Agricole RVM, the first time I've drink Barcelò, I remained amazed about the colour: dark ambrè but with very red glares, a delight for the eyes. But the taste... for an anejo, of 40° I supposed it was more velvet, instead I've found a RVM too lively for my preferences.
Inappropriate for a night on the beach...

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

Highly abraisive on the tounge at first, but slowly comes out with some good oak and vanilla taste. Best on the rocks or with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

The packaging of the Bacelo Imperial rum is a real success. The flask is splendid, it really guides the consumer to buy.

The appearance of the rum itself is reddish amber.
In my opinion the nose is predominantly flavored with leather and tobacco, with hints of oak and vanilla.
These flavors can be retrieved on the palate, making it a rum rather simple. It is pretty dry, increasing the bite of the alcohol depiste its reasonable proof.

The dryness is however less predominant than for the Diplomatico Reserva rum (I'm not talking about the Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva rum, 12 yo, but about the 6 yo one), reason why I've granted this rum with a 7.

I would have ranked this rum below the Angostura 1919 and the Plantation Barbados 2000 rums (marked with a 7 too), but the flask leveled my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

...it's not bad at all but I'm not into this kind of flavour profile, also, it enters your mouth with much attention but then it disappears very fast with a spicy finish.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott from United States with 1 rating

This is a very versatile rum that with a big suprise in flavor. Good on the rocks or neat it also mixes well with tonic or coke. I've gone all up and down the spectrum and this rum fits many needs. For a sipping rum I lean to Zacappa XO but Barcelo is a moderate price and well worth it. Without question it is my "go to" rum. While I can't get in Michigan I find DrinkUpNY is easy to deal with.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by RumSteve from United States with 15 ratings

Appearance: Cherry color
Nose: Cocoa, lemon, oak, some citrusy scents
Palate: Warm and rich

One of my top go-to rums. Voted best rum in the world by the BI 2000, 2001.
Definitely something to try, and the price is fantastic!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by cyryl from France with 5 ratings

Distillerie : Barcelo
Provenance : Saint Domingue, République Dominicaine

Rhum de tradition espagnole, le rhum Ron Barcelo Imperial est issu d'un assemblage de rhums âgés de 4 à 11 ans.

Sa robe est ambrée, légèrement fauve.

Le nez est assez riche ; on relève des notes fauves assez puissantes, du caramel et une pointe de vanille.

En bouche ce rhum est toujours aussi caramélisé, l'attaque est moelleuse mais puissante et très "sec" et boisée ; on retrouve au palais la vanille, des notes assez dures de cuir, des épices.

Le finale est tout aussi sec et puissant, limite austère.
Ce rhum est sans aucun doute un rhum de caractère (boisé à souhait), avis aux amateurs...