Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
486 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
28
109
183
126
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

486 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Schöne Flasche und sogar Nummeriert. (Nachbewertung vom 28.12.2018)
Tja, auch schon das beste an diesem Ron. (Nein)
In der Nase fruchtig und etwas bissig. (Relativ dezent, Karamell, Kakao, Leder, Früchte, nicht bissig)
Im Gaumen doch etwas zu flach, Trockenfrüchte, Toffee, Leder. (etwa so)
Nicht so süss. (jawohl)
Abgang schwach.
(Gutes Preis/Leistung Verhältnis für Einsteiger.)

Beautiful bottle and even numbered.
Well, even the best thing about this Ron.
a slightly fruty and biting nose.
On the palate, a bit too shallow, dried fruits, toffee, leather.
Not so sweet.
Weak in the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by vincent from France with 128 ratings

Ce n'est pas le meilleur rhum que j'ai bu, mais il mérite largement sa place parmi vos bouteilles. Je conseille de le laisser s'aérer un peu et de le refroidir avec un petit glaçon afin de libérer plus de saveur. Il ne mérite pas l'insulte de le mélanger à du coca.
This is not the best rhum i've tried but it deserve to be amongst your favorite bottles. I advise you to have it on the rocks for more flavor. It doesn't deserve the insult to be mixed with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by kkrgamel from France with 4 ratings

Il s'agit d'un rhum assez corsé avec des notes de vanille bourbon. Il se boit très bien sec et à une bonne longueur en bouche .

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Let's get the stupid stuff out of the way first. I find it interesting that the way the bottle is shaped and the thickness of the glass makes for a chiming rhythmic sound when you hold it with two fingers by the neck (just below the lip) and drum on the plastic cap. BTW, the plastic cap and the artificial "cork" are one of the few detrimental elements of this rum. It is a tight fit and I've read more than one complaint of people having the cork break apart from the plastic cap when attempting to uncork the bottle. That element of cheapness should not be present in a rum that costs $40+.

I'm easily amused.

Anyway, this rum is somewhat paradoxical for me. Very little odor in the bottle and the flavor is equally as subtle. Not sweet but really not dry either. Has some woodiness to it. I don't know how they achieved this. I don't mean this has no flavor or character because it has both but from all the rums I've sampled thus far this one is arguably the best balanced one of them all. It would make for a good sipping rum as well as a good mixer. It won't overwhelm mixed drinks but instead complements what is used whether is be fruit based, coffee, frozen or just in a cola. Definitely a "must have".

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by DrMajki from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jantarová barva, chuť s prvním douškem ostřejší, ale jinak celkový dojem Dobrý

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Danny from Belgium with 18 ratings

Fort goûteux mais l'arrière bouche alcoolisé reste trop marqué en opposition aux saveurs.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 20 ratings

En udemærket rom som kan nydes ren eller i en cocktail. ..

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Joe from United States with 5 ratings

Very smooth and a great mixer. Like many I discovered this in punta Cana. Very crisp and clean. Not too sweet...but has an alcohol smell rather than a pleasant smell to start.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Agustin Londoño from Colombia with 4 ratings

The taste is deep but mild. And the relation with the price might give it a higher rate.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

I enjoyed this on my vacation in spain, good allrounder and in the region of havanna espesiale and Bacardi reserva

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 29 ratings

Preferred this rum on the rocks not bad for sipping.