Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.9/10 (437 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
25
94
162
118
19
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


437 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Sweet, smooth and with a reasonable price. Makes this rum a treat.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

A very pleasant sipper. Not nearly as strong tasting as it's aroma suggests. Smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Efstathios from Greece with 6 ratings

Μπήκα σε μια κάβα με διάθεση να δοκιμάσω κάτι διαφορετικό το μάτι μου έπεσε σε αυτο το ρούμι. Παω σπίτι βάζω ένα ποτήρι... ήπια τρεις γουλιές πόλυ σκληρό για τον ουρανίσκο μου ευτυχώς την επόμενη μετα η σύζυγος μου με ενημέρωσε ότι έσπασε το μπουκαλι

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Maarten Jan from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A colleague of mine gave me this rum as a present.
I must say the way the rum is presented (design, color of the rum) did make me expect a whole lot. But, although it's a tasty rum, it's not very special.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jim from Canada with 10 ratings

A gift of this pushed me back into the world of fine rums, a superb standard.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by christophemahy from Belgium with 2 ratings

Un des premiers rhum gouté lors de mon séjour en république Dominicaine. j'ai vraiment aimé son goût et c'est grâce à lui que je souhaite connaitre d'autres bon rhum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

I decided to try this Dominican rum and the takeaway is quite good. Not too sweet, quite smooth and enjoyable. Bought it in NYC as we do not have this kind in PA. Very nice for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Good rum but nothing special. Very easy to drink, quite oaky but it doesn't give you much else to sparkle the mind...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by ziegelmeyer from France with 10 ratings

Rhum à cocktails, avec du coca ou en mojito mais pas sec.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I am perhaps taken in by the products of other islands, or maybe I have been seduced by rums in other price points. But, I no longer see the Imperial as a sipping rum. It's solid, no doubt - with a shallower version of the characteristics of newer rums from other producers. But, it doesn't light my fire.

Ffffff

Posted about 13 hours ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 25 ratings

Na prvý pohľad zaujme fľaša, ktorej budíkový tvar s logom vyzerá exkluzívne. (asi to ovplyvnilo aj mňa :)). Vôňa nie je zaujímavá, drevitá - dubová. Rum je suchý s prenikavou drevitou chuťou, jemne korenistý s nadýcham tabaku a jablka. Dochuť je trpká až jemne horká. Príjemne zahreje. Celkovo ma veľmi neoslovil, mám radšej jemne násladle rumy, tento mi silne pripomína až whisky.