Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
498 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
29
112
189
127
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

498 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by rišo from Slovakia with 41 ratings

Tomuto som nedával veľké šance ale napokon milo prekvapilo

Small j868gn

Posted 5 months ago by liviuhorgos from Romania with 18 ratings

Good Qpr and sippin' rum, but a bit closed on the nose and not that aromatic (it opens up after 20-30 min in the glass).
Nice brown/orange color, not too heavy and bodied but also, not to light or thin bodied.
Otherwise decent alcohol and not over-burning on the throat. Fair rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 10 ratings

I first drank that rhum at punta cana, i was on vacation. The packaging is very well made ! Fine details... the bottle is beautiful also ! The noze smells cacao and may be some caramel and a little vanilla ! My wife says Cinnamon :)
The barcelo imperial is easy to drink, not overly sweet, not rough neither, warms the chest, with a long final in the mouth ! I prefer to drink it straight. The texture of the liquor in the mouth is rounder ! I drink this rhum while having a glass of El Passador de Oro XO, in order to compare. I can tell without any doubt that the Barcelo Imperial has much more character than the Passador de Oro Xo. I will buy it again and again !

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

The smell is quite easy on the nose. A bit spicy and some vanilla. The taste is quite neutral. No real complexity but burn of alcohol while drinking, no real sweetness, which is nice if you are looking to get away from the diplomaticos or the zacapas. No real afterburn, its actually a quite smooth rum. When you make up the balance, you get a nice rum for a nice price. Good to serve to a thirsty crowd, without worrying that your top of the line rum will go wasted on guests that cant appreciate it to the fullest.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 18 ratings

De tweede van de avond. Milder dan de El Dorado. Maar daardoor wat vlakjes

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Good for walking over forests with friends and backpacks

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

No it won’t compete with Plantation XO, but this is an absolutely delicious rum for its price. It is a staple in my cabinet due to the quality, price, and availability. It is very smooth with vanilla and caramel flavors, a touch of oak and a nice subtle hint of smokiness. The subtlety and balance of the flavors at $19 a bottle is what makes this an 8/10. It not a the level of the aged rums...but it doesn’t pretend to be. If you aren’t a rum drinker but wanted to have one inexpensive rum for guests this is a great choice.

Nose: 7
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 7
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 8
Price: 10

Total: 8

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

'A limited edition bottling of Ron Barceló, created in celebration of 30 years production. Every year since 1980, Miguel Barceló has set aside private reserves of his rum for two extra years of ageing, and has used these to create their Imperial Premium Blend.'

It's rich, dark and chocolatey with dried fruit and hints of sherry, a superb sipper!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A great tasty rum. Not so spicy but taste compensate the lack of spices. A bit costly.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Not my favourite. Not very Sweet, but a nice flavour

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

A very pleasant sipper. Not nearly as strong tasting as it's aroma suggests. Smooth.