Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10(476 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
27
104
179
126
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

476 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Agustin Londoño from Colombia with 4 ratings

The taste is deep but mild. And the relation with the price might give it a higher rate.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Good for walking over forests with friends and backpacks

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 69 ratings

No it won’t compete with Plantation XO, but this is an absolutely delicious rum for its price. It is a staple in my cabinet due to the quality, price, and availability. It is very smooth with vanilla and caramel flavors, a touch of oak and a nice subtle hint of smokiness. The subtlety and balance of the flavors at $19 a bottle is what makes this an 8/10. It not a the level of the aged rums...but it doesn’t pretend to be. If you aren’t a rum drinker but wanted to have one inexpensive rum for guests this is a great choice.

Nose: 7
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 7
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 8
Price: 10

Total: 8

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

'A limited edition bottling of Ron Barceló, created in celebration of 30 years production. Every year since 1980, Miguel Barceló has set aside private reserves of his rum for two extra years of ageing, and has used these to create their Imperial Premium Blend.'

It's rich, dark and chocolatey with dried fruit and hints of sherry, a superb sipper!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nick from Canada with 22 ratings

A great tasty rum. Not so spicy but taste compensate the lack of spices. A bit costly.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Not my favourite. Not very Sweet, but a nice flavour

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by EFS from United States with 5 ratings

A very pleasant sipper. Not nearly as strong tasting as it's aroma suggests. Smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Efstathios from Greece with 6 ratings

Μπήκα σε μια κάβα με διάθεση να δοκιμάσω κάτι διαφορετικό το μάτι μου έπεσε σε αυτο το ρούμι. Παω σπίτι βάζω ένα ποτήρι... ήπια τρεις γουλιές πόλυ σκληρό για τον ουρανίσκο μου ευτυχώς την επόμενη μετα η σύζυγος μου με ενημέρωσε ότι έσπασε το μπουκαλι

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Maarten Jan from Netherlands with 6 ratings

A colleague of mine gave me this rum as a present.
I must say the way the rum is presented (design, color of the rum) did make me expect a whole lot. But, although it's a tasty rum, it's not very special.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jim from Canada with 10 ratings

A gift of this pushed me back into the world of fine rums, a superb standard.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by christophemahy from Belgium with 2 ratings

Un des premiers rhum gouté lors de mon séjour en république Dominicaine. j'ai vraiment aimé son goût et c'est grâce à lui que je souhaite connaitre d'autres bon rhum.