Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
510 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
30
115
196
129
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

510 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 30 ratings

Preferred this rum on the rocks not bad for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 59 ratings

Great rum for cuba libre, slightly sweet which makes a great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by soccerrd5 from Netherlands with 21 ratings

Smooth, gets better after the first taste. Always have a bottle of this to have it ready when friends come over

Small f94167204d84d557ee11bb52a65ed613

Posted 7 months ago by Vestty from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Pretty looking bottle, especially the huge 1.75L one. Nice darker colour, the rum is a little boring at first - not much happening. Then the taste comes in. Nice hints of wood and leather. If the taste was a little stronger from the get-go and also in general, this could be an 8. Maybe it could also use a little more voltage - it just seems too smooth for its own good. Still great especially given the price.

Small j868gn

Posted 8 months ago by liviuhorgos from Romania with 18 ratings

Good Qpr and sippin' rum, but a bit closed on the nose and not that aromatic (it opens up after 20-30 min in the glass).
Nice brown/orange color, not too heavy and bodied but also, not to light or thin bodied.
Otherwise decent alcohol and not over-burning on the throat. Fair rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 16 ratings

English version after the French one...

J'ai bu ce rhum pour la première fois en vacances à Punta Cana en République dominicaine. Le packaging en fait un rhum qui se présente très bien visuellement. La bouteille se distingue aisément de par sa forme. Au nez, on peut percevoir du Cacao, du caramel et un soupçon de vanille. Ma conjointe dit percevoir des saveurs de cannelle !! J'en doute, mais bon... les goûts et les couleurs ne se discutent pas ! 😁
Le Barcelo Impérial se boit très bien ! Il n'est pas agressif en bouche. Il est doux sans trop l'être. Un parfait équilibre disons!
La finale est persistante, et ce rhum réchauffe assez bien le thorax ! 😁
Je préfère le déguster brut ! Sans glaçon. La texture est plus onctueuse ainsi et les saveurs se manifestent tel un parfum envoûtant... Je l'ai bu en ayant en main un verre de El Passador de Oro XO, pour comparer. Je peux dire sans l'ombre d'un doute que le Barcelo a plus de caractère! Je l'achèterai encore et encore...

I first drank that rhum at punta cana, i was on vacation. The packaging is very well made ! Fine details... the bottle is beautiful also ! The noze smells cacao and may be some caramel and a little vanilla ! My wife says Cinnamon :)
The barcelo imperial is easy to drink, not overly sweet, not rough neither, warms the chest, with a long final in the mouth ! I prefer to drink it straight. The texture of the liquor in the mouth is rounder ! I drink this rhum while having a glass of El Passador de Oro XO, in order to compare. I can tell without any doubt that the Barcelo Imperial has much more character than the Passador de Oro Xo. I will buy it again and again !

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

The smell is quite easy on the nose. A bit spicy and some vanilla. The taste is quite neutral. No real complexity but burn of alcohol while drinking, no real sweetness, which is nice if you are looking to get away from the diplomaticos or the zacapas. No real afterburn, its actually a quite smooth rum. When you make up the balance, you get a nice rum for a nice price. Good to serve to a thirsty crowd, without worrying that your top of the line rum will go wasted on guests that cant appreciate it to the fullest.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 24 ratings

De tweede van de avond. Milder dan de El Dorado. Maar daardoor wat vlakjes

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Good for walking over forests with friends and backpacks

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mujuru from United States with 81 ratings

No it won’t compete with the truly great rums, but this is an absolutely delicious rum for its price. It is a staple in my cabinet due to the quality, price, and availability. It is very smooth with vanilla and caramel flavors, a touch of oak and a nice subtle hint of smokiness. The subtlety and balance of the flavors at $19 a bottle is what makes this an 7/10. It not a the level of the aged rums...but it doesn’t pretend to be. If you aren’t a rum drinker but wanted to have one inexpensive rum for guests this is a great choice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

'A limited edition bottling of Ron Barceló, created in celebration of 30 years production. Every year since 1980, Miguel Barceló has set aside private reserves of his rum for two extra years of ageing, and has used these to create their Imperial Premium Blend.'

It's rich, dark and chocolatey with dried fruit and hints of sherry, a superb sipper!