Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (467 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
27
101
175
124
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

467 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20200524 104415

Posted almost 3 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

I felt mellow tones of bourbon, cinnamon and new spices, the taste is light and dry. Like this one. For connoisseurs...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.

Small 0

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

This is a surprisingly good rum. I didn't have high hopes reading the ratings and knowing I prefer a sweeter rum, but this one is good.

Nose for me is brown sugar and oak, while the taste is more smoky and long finish. Slightly spicy, bitter, and tart, but not overpowering. Slightly one dimensional without new flavors surfacing after the initial sip, I wonder if 3-5 more years of cask aging would really have improved this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 42 ratings

Average sweetness and quite easy. Fruity taste with oak/wood, some coconut and honey.

Small f94167204d84d557ee11bb52a65ed613

Posted 26 days ago by Vestty from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Pretty looking bottle, especially the huge 1.75L one. Nice darker colour, the rum is powerful and dry but gets smoother with every glass. Nice hints of wood and leather. The price is lower than what you might expect given the taste. A great rum to have to show others what a good rum tastes like without emptying your entire wallet.

Small j868gn

Posted 1 month ago by liviuhorgos from Romania with 15 ratings

Good Qpr and sippin' rum, but a bit closed on the nose and not that aromatic (it opens up after 20-30 min in the glass).
Nice brown/orange color, not too heavy and bodied but also, not to light or thin bodied.
Otherwise decent alcohol and not over-burning on the throat. Fair rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Jojorhum from Canada with 3 ratings

I first drank that rhum at punta cana, i was on vacation. The packaging is very well made ! Fine details... the bottle is beautiful also ! The noze smells cacao and may be some caramel and a little vanilla ! My wife says Cinnamon :)
The barcelo imperial is easy to drink, not overly sweet, not rough neither, warms the chest, with a long final in the mouth ! I prefer to drink it straight. The texture of the liquor in the mouth is rounder ! I drink this rhum while having a glass of El Passador de Oro XO, in order to compare. I can tell without any doubt that the Barcelo Imperial has much more character than the Passador de Oro Xo. I will buy it again and again !

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by lucle5 from Canada with 12 ratings

Goût de caramel fumé, excellent pour dégustation, un peu sec par contre, pas cher pour un bon rhum en république Dominicaine (30$ can).

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 14 ratings

The smell is quite easy on the nose. A bit spicy and some vanilla. The taste is quite neutral. No real complexity but burn of alcohol while drinking, no real sweetness, which is nice if you are looking to get away from the diplomaticos or the zacapas. No real afterburn, its actually a quite smooth rum. When you make up the balance, you get a nice rum for a nice price. Good to serve to a thirsty crowd, without worrying that your top of the line rum will go wasted on guests that cant appreciate it to the fullest.

Small img 20210101 104439

Posted 5 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Aroma of this rum is realy specified - pineapple jam, sherry, vanilla and nuts. In mouth this rum play very high game, when offer you smoth amd full body.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 17 ratings

De tweede van de avond. Milder dan de El Dorado. Maar daardoor wat vlakjes