Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (457 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
25
99
170
122
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


457 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

I tried this rum once and I didn´t enjoyed it. It was too dry for me, and no really good taste. I would like to give it a try once more, but not by buying a bottle. But it´s very cheap though.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.

Small 0

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 106 ratings

This is a surprisingly good rum. I didn't have high hopes reading the ratings and knowing I prefer a sweeter rum, but this one is good.

Nose for me is brown sugar and oak, while the taste is more smoky and long finish. Slightly spicy, bitter, and tart, but not overpowering. Slightly one dimensional without new flavors surfacing after the initial sip, I wonder if 3-5 more years of cask aging would really have improved this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 42 ratings

Average sweetness and quite easy. Fruity taste with oak/wood, some coconut and honey.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by lucle5 from Canada with 12 ratings

Goût de caramel fumé, excellent pour dégustation, un peu sec par contre, pas cher pour un bon rhum en république Dominicaine (30$ can).

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bramski from Netherlands with 11 ratings

The smell is quite easy on the nose. A bit spicy and some vanilla. The taste is quite neutral. No real complexity but burn of alcohol while drinking, no real sweetness, which is nice if you are looking to get away from the diplomaticos or the zacapas. No real afterburn, its actually a quite smooth rum. When you make up the balance, you get a nice rum for a nice price. Good to serve to a thirsty crowd, without worrying that your top of the line rum will go wasted on guests that cant appreciate it to the fullest.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 89 ratings

Aroma of this rum is realy specified - pineapple jam, sherry, vanilla and nuts. In mouth this rum play very high game, when offer you smoth amd full body.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 15 ratings

De tweede van de avond. Milder dan de El Dorado. Maar daardoor wat vlakjes

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Good for walking over forests with friends and backpacks

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 53 ratings

No it won’t compete with Plantation XO, but this is an absolutely delicious rum for its price. It is a staple in my cabinet due to the quality, price, and availability. It is very smooth with vanilla and caramel flavors, a touch of oak and a nice subtle hint of smokiness. The subtlety and balance of the flavors at $19 a bottle is what makes this an 8/10. It not a the level of the aged rums...but it doesn’t pretend to be. If you aren’t a rum drinker but wanted to have one inexpensive rum for guests this is a great choice.

Nose: 8
Palate: 8
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 8
Price: 10

Total: 8.3

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

'A limited edition bottling of Ron Barceló, created in celebration of 30 years production. Every year since 1980, Miguel Barceló has set aside private reserves of his rum for two extra years of ageing, and has used these to create their Imperial Premium Blend.'

It's rich, dark and chocolatey with dried fruit and hints of sherry, a superb sipper!