Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
510 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
30
115
196
129
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

510 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

I tried this rum once and I didn´t enjoyed it. It was too dry for me, and no really good taste. I would like to give it a try once more, but not by buying a bottle. But it´s very cheap though.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 423 ratings

Schöne Flasche und sogar Nummeriert. (Nachbewertung vom 28.12.2018)
Tja, auch schon das beste an diesem Ron. (Nein)
In der Nase fruchtig und etwas bissig. (Relativ dezent, Karamell, Kakao, Leder, Früchte, nicht bissig)
Im Gaumen doch etwas zu flach, Trockenfrüchte, Toffee, Leder. (etwa so)
Nicht so süss. (jawohl)
Abgang schwach.
(Gutes Preis/Leistung Verhältnis für Einsteiger.)

Beautiful bottle and even numbered.
Well, even the best thing about this Ron.
a slightly fruty and biting nose.
On the palate, a bit too shallow, dried fruits, toffee, leather.
Not so sweet.
Weak in the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by vvv from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

Worthy to try. Not to much sweet.. caramel flavours.. a bit smokey.. Very easy to drink..

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is just a really enjoyable rum. Not bursting with flavours or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A great straight up sipper.

Small profile 1

Posted 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 113 ratings

This is a surprisingly good rum. I didn't have high hopes reading the ratings and knowing I prefer a sweeter rum, but this one is good.

Nose for me is brown sugar and oak, while the taste is more smoky and long finish. Slightly spicy, bitter, and tart, but not overpowering. Slightly one dimensional without new flavors surfacing after the initial sip, I wonder if 3-5 more years of cask aging would really have improved this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 42 ratings

Average sweetness and quite easy. Fruity taste with oak/wood, some coconut and honey.

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 7 days ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 45 ratings

I bought this rum while vacationing in the Florida keys. It was a nice rum to drink while hurricane partying. But this rum is a mixer. Although it has nice flavors, this rum lacks depth and it has an overly alcoholic taste to it. At $33 USD, I’d rather invest in something else.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by dwight.schrute from Bulgaria with 4 ratings

For all practical intents and purposes this is a bourbon. And when I'm in the need for bourbon I buy bourbon. Next.

Small img 4861

Posted 1 month ago by Bonandy from Poland with 51 ratings

Good rum, nice aroma. Delicate flavor, slightly sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Sock from Netherlands with 19 ratings

nothing more that I can add.. a great bottle that's very well priced! good for sipping and mixing

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Abeld39 from United States with 3 ratings

Very smooth for a Barceló (will still warm you up) and good for drinking neat.