Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


419 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Rhum de caractères, fort et boisé. Je recommande.

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 5 gpl. Soft on the nose and very smooth going down. Nice caramel aroma with a soft oak taste. Not a lot of burn but what there is sticks with you for a while. So soft it will sneak up on you in a mixed drink as it tends to get lost in the mix. If you don't like a strong rum taste in your mixed drink then this is a good rum. In a pinch this could be a sipping rum. Great value here in Canada at $39.
If you can't decide what to buy, then give this one a try.

Posted about 5 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

Este ron es una desilusión total, a pesar de que es añejo su sabor no es agradable

Posted about 5 years ago by pearl from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

big favourite of mine. Great value for performance. Love the almond/nut smell as well as the chocolate. Taste is great, sweet, yet with touch of alcohol. Just loving it
91/100

Posted about 5 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

A really soft and gentle rum, fruity and sweet. At the Price a very decent rum, a good sipper, and great for desserts.

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Smooth and well balanced. Would buy again, good value.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marax from Netherlands with 41 ratings

Drinked it a loton the domenican republ, pretty standerd but a good cheap one.

Posted over 5 years ago by Casi 1896 from Germany with 24 ratings

Jede produzierte Flasche ist mit verschiedenen Nummern versehen und gilt daher als echte Rarität. Kann ich im Geschmack nicht ganz nachvollziehen.

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Had a few rounds of this at a bar in the dominican republic. It's a good rum with a nice and soft scent of caramel and figs. The palette offer notes of burt sugar, oak and caramel, with a rather smoothe finish. Good value.

Posted over 5 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

Nothing against it, but nothing for it either.
Plantation Barbados (http://www.rumratings.com/brands/642-plantation-barbados-5-year-rum) costs 2.5$ less and is a far better choice!

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

i am in San Juan and out for lunch and the waiter said he would give me his favourite rum. I was disappointed

Posted over 5 years ago by thmsngrn from France with 6 ratings

Mais pas extraordinaire, agréable sans laisser un souvenir impérissable

Posted over 5 years ago by Mat990 from Italy with 5 ratings

piacevoli sentori di liquirizia. veramente ottimo.

Posted over 5 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Ein guter Durchschnittsrum. Für mich zu scharf im Abgang. Pur mag ich ihn nicht

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

When spirits are 38% alc like this one, I find that there is often a danger that the spirit can come across a bit dilute, and this is the case here. Soft oaky notes, but not enough ooomph. Pleasant enough with some nice sweet fruit to go with the oak but.....

Posted over 5 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Quite a good room, but I expected it to be much better than Gran Anejo, while it's very similar. A bit more harsh and vanilla flavored. Not a bad choice overall, but since Gran Anejo is much cheaper...right :)

Posted over 5 years ago by TwanB from Netherlands with 16 ratings

This is by far the best rum I've tasted; very very smooth, but with great flavour.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Lidt sprittet, lidt fad, men ellers god.
Dejlig eftersmag.

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Rum and not a bad price

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Barcelo imperial delivers a very enticing bundle of smokey tobacco and fresh cane Juice with dried fruit. The overall experience is less refined than other more mature rums but its uniqueness makes this this a worthwhile purchase.

Posted about 6 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

This room is the best for me. Very good smell and testy, men's character, good with smoke, absolutely not for short drinks, and don't have difficult test but it the best for all what I have tested. Recommended to buy

Posted about 6 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

Det var denne rom, som startede min interesse for rom.

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Best Dominican rum I've had so far. Nutty, smooth, rich and lingering.

Posted about 6 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

Yes!
Granted that I prefer Agricole RVM, the first time I've drink Barcelò, I remained amazed about the colour: dark ambrè but with very red glares, a delight for the eyes. But the taste... for an anejo, of 40° I supposed it was more velvet, instead I've found a RVM too lively for my preferences.
Inappropriate for a night on the beach...

Posted over 6 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

Highly abraisive on the tounge at first, but slowly comes out with some good oak and vanilla taste. Best on the rocks or with cola.