Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (457 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
25
99
170
122
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


457 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 433 ratings

A classy rum for the price that has a dry flavour. Subtle flavours but not as much depth as other more flavoursome rums ... Makes a posh rum and coke but lovely as it is .. much nicer on the rocks

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by GA34 from France with 13 ratings

un bon rapport qualité/prix qui mérite un gros 6 voir 6.5

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

visiting casa de campo in DR, tried barcelo imperial on the rocks and was impressed with its smooth taste and fruity aroma. I bought a bottle and then another and now I drink it after dinner every weekend, I love the taste and dont get tired of it

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Celkom priemerný, trocha alkoholový, trocha korenistý. Vypil som.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

I found the allure of the bottle, the written tasting notes and numbered bottles appealing - however, the taste doesn’t match all the flare. First, I found alcohol to be the most predominant flavor of this rum; smooth not being a characteristic at all. If you can handle the burn, the flavors are average - a spicy, mildly sweet leathery finish. Personally, I’d save your money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

Was able to enjoy sampling the Imperial at a resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Low sugar content, with a mild flavour profile and medium alcohol finish, it is a decent rum to sip on especially for the price point (noting the price in DR). As it's not readily available here (in BC/ Canada) it was nice to try and I did enjoy several glasses.
Not something I would go hunting for, but definitely a nice rum to have on the shelf simply to add diversity to your collection

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kolibrik from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Good rum with strong aroma, slightly less so on the pallet but enjoyable from the first sip. Works as a sipper to finish the day. Not sweet at all. More after the wood / smoke than caramel that is hinted in the flavor. And a nice bottle to look at.
Great to share with friends and easy on the wallet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pietro from Germany with 10 ratings

Ein Rum für jeden Moment oder auch zum Mischen.
Preis Leistung ist nicht schlecht. Hatte keine großen Erwartungen an diesen Rum und wurde auch nicht überrascht.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alron from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Very tasty but lower rate than it should be due to price

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

It's a bit like the Gran Anejo but with less nuts and more oak. Same sweetness. Expected more

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

Had this first while on a work trip to the Dominican Republic. Was a great cap to several busy days.
Once I returned state side, picked up a bottle for home. While it was still a great soft sipper, it lacked some of the wow factor I first got from it.

Brown sugar and toffee notes that were soothing on the tongue and a nice warming finish by the time you get done with 2 fingers.

Would strongly recommend to any one that enjoys a good rum with a great Dominican cigar.