Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (467 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
27
101
175
124
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

467 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a unique rum experience and should be tried.

That said, the rum smells and finishes like perfume! I prefer the cheaper and tastier Barcelo Grand Anjeo to the Imperial. This one surprised me, in a bad way...

I'm thinking it must be the barrels they are using for this label. The oak flavor was odd, it was over oaked providing a burnt tobacco flavor. The whole rum was way off, dry, and unbalanced. The only saving grace is that I could taste a quality aged rum wanting to come out. It was just overpowered by a strange oakey flavor and overly pungent botanicals. For my second try I used a glass of Coke to help calm it down a bit but that lingering perfume aroma would not go away and that strange oak flavor prevailed.

The rum is not worth the price but its something a rum drinker should try. Maybe your experience will be different but I think Barcelo took what could have been a great rum and messed it up terribly.

It's also a nasty hangover. That smell is still in my nose and I feel awful right now!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This is an enjoyable light rum. Not bursting with flavors or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A good straight up sipper. Great price point and value.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 48 ratings

Very dry and oak taste, but the distillate is not so good.
Alcohol in aftertaste.
In this price, I prefer Diplomatico Mantuano.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

This wonderful rum from the DR won't kill you. Taste good but not the smoothest either.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by pebron from Slovakia with 19 ratings

Klasický, nič moc rum, ktorý sa nedá vychutnávať. Dá sa vypiť, ale neulahodil mi, skôr by pasoval k cigarám.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Picked this up very cheaply in Tenerife a few years back. For the price its an excellent golden rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ralmeida from Portugal with 12 ratings

Easy drinking, good price for the quality. Better than much other pricey rums and a sure buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

I like this rum.
I think, this rum has both rich side and dry side.
There is sweetness as brown suger with vanilla flavor and also smooth nuts oil taste.
This price at this taste, it's really a bargain !

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

actually hard to describe because there weren't many significant characters in smell and taste. It's smooth and easily drinkable, maybe better to use it with Cola...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Wmmaine from United States with 1 rating

Nice amber color, smooth but not too sweet. Need 50 characters instead of 44. Happy now?

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 122 ratings

Smagte denne på en rommesse og var ret skuffet, ikke lige noget for mig