Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.9/10 (440 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
25
95
164
118
19
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


440 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

It's rum, and it doesn't taste like gasoline, so there's not anything predominantly bad going on with it. It's just not anything special.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Alron from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Very tasty but lower rate than it should be due to price

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

It's a bit like the Gran Anejo but with less nuts and more oak. Same sweetness. Expected more

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

Had this first while on a work trip to the Dominican Republic. Was a great cap to several busy days.
Once I returned state side, picked up a bottle for home. While it was still a great soft sipper, it lacked some of the wow factor I first got from it.

Brown sugar and toffee notes that were soothing on the tongue and a nice warming finish by the time you get done with 2 fingers.

Would strongly recommend to any one that enjoys a good rum with a great Dominican cigar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...hard to rate as it’s not really something special and it’s also not as good as hoped.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

N. I. C. E. R. U. M

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Mam ho ve skrini uz dlouho. Zaujalo me baleni. Ale chut i vune spis zklamaly. Suchy. Koreneny. Mozna i trochu dreva kuze.
Pouzivam ho s třtinovým cukrem a maslem - na panev, zkaramelizovat a je z toho bomba přeliv na zmrzlinu.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

I was drinking this at a resort and at best it belongs in coke....

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I am not one for trying out rums because of popularity, but I kept hearing about this rum, so I had to give it a go. The result was a pleasant rum, that will please most rum-lovers.

Nose: Brown sugar, wood and a subtle hint of some fruit, maybe dried apples
Taste: Light, dry and well-rounded with notes of wood, vanilla and raisins
Overall: This is really a good rum. It doesn´t blow your mind, but it is well above average, especially for the price. If it is available to you, then you should consider picking up a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

a real rum with vanilla and caramel in flavor and aroma. Clear taste of oak and pepper

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 77 ratings

24th rum, Barcelo Imperial is a nice full budied rum, to conclude 24 rums 2018.
Coffee and orange on nose, than strong but warming alcohol, smooth with long warm conclusion.