Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (441 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
25
95
164
119
19
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


441 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Rhum de caractères, fort et boisé. Je recommande.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

actually hard to describe because there weren't many significant characters in smell and taste. It's smooth and easily drinkable, maybe better to use it with Cola...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Wmmaine from United States with 1 rating

Nice amber color, smooth but not too sweet. Need 50 characters instead of 44. Happy now?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Smagte denne på en rommesse og var ret skuffet, ikke lige noget for mig

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Tento rum nie je moc sladky, aspon podla mojho nazoru. Mne to vyhovuje. Flasa je naozaj krasna.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by GA34 from France with 13 ratings

un bon rapport qualité/prix qui mérite un gros 6 voir 6.5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

visiting casa de campo in DR, tried barcelo imperial on the rocks and was impressed with its smooth taste and fruity aroma. I bought a bottle and then another and now I drink it after dinner every weekend, I love the taste and dont get tired of it

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Celkom priemerný, trocha alkoholový, trocha korenistý. Vypil som.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lebby from Canada with 20 ratings

I found the allure of the bottle, the written tasting notes and numbered bottles appealing - however, the taste doesn’t match all the flare. First, I found alcohol to be the most predominant flavor of this rum; smooth not being a characteristic at all. If you can handle the burn, the flavors are average - a spicy, mildly sweet leathery finish. Personally, I’d save your money.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony from Canada with 22 ratings

Was able to enjoy sampling the Imperial at a resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Low sugar content, with a mild flavour profile and medium alcohol finish, it is a decent rum to sip on especially for the price point (noting the price in DR). As it's not readily available here (in BC/ Canada) it was nice to try and I did enjoy several glasses.
Not something I would go hunting for, but definitely a nice rum to have on the shelf simply to add diversity to your collection

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kolibrik from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Good rum with strong aroma, slightly less so on the pallet but enjoyable from the first sip. Works as a sipper to finish the day. Not sweet at all. More after the wood / smoke than caramel that is hinted in the flavor. And a nice bottle to look at.
Great to share with friends and easy on the wallet.