Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (457 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
25
99
170
122
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


457 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light citrus and orange notes with vanilla and chocolate. Very sweet with some leather notes. A good one but slightly below its big brother.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Carlsvader from Spain with 8 ratings

Para mi gusto, este junto al pampero aniversario, son los rones con mejor calidad precio. En este caso estamos ante un ron dorado, recuerda a manzana madura, frutos secos y madera, moderadamente dulce y un final largo , solo o con una piedra de hielo.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

This is great rum straight up, provided you appreciate an bold, oaky, dry rum. It reminds me of my Cuban favorites, albeit this is a Dominican Rum. It's $ 50.00 in Quebec which is a great price for nice sipping rum. Can't ask for more in a rum. The fact that it is priced decent is irrelevant, just a bonus

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Sweetened, a bit too simplistic. OK to sip, but expect little.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Sjaak from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Nice bottle, okay rum. Smokey and a bit heavy, certainly not everyman's friend, but I like it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

What a surprise. Good sirupy and sweet rum. I can realy recommend this one. Price-quality is good

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirate from Sweden with 7 ratings

It’s not at the same level as a ”Top rum”. But if you compare price to taste, it’s well worth it.
Smooth and lot of toffee.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pacorro from Spain with 27 ratings

Me gusta, pero con la cantidad de rones tengo que ser justo en la valoración, tiene ese golpe de los 40 grados, pero ese dulzor por el que me gusta el ron no es precisamente lo más evidente y aunque el Ceuta está por debajo de los 20€ hay otros que me gustan más .

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Almoast too smooth. Nothing happends when it hits your tounge except nice flavours, no alcohol burn at all. Tastes good but wait..wait......WAIT...nothing. But for the price it's thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

In nose: smoky and a slight of toffee
In mouth: dry, oaky, leathery
Aftertaste: dry and oaky

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This is an enjoyable light rum. Not bursting with flavors or aromas, but genuinely delicious. You could have a glass of this anytime. A good straight up sipper. Great price point and value.