Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged | 38.0% ABV

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10
510 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
15
30
115
196
129
21
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

510 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 400 ratings

Light citrus and orange notes with vanilla and chocolate. Very sweet with some leather notes. A good one but slightly below its big brother.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Chuť karamel, vanilka, sušená jablka, hrušky a koření. Závěr má trochu hořký ocas.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

Caramel, dates and fruit aroma, coconut and smokey flavour, very smooth and dry.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

As a big fan of Dominican rums and Barcelo I must say I enjoyed this bottle. Its really doesn't offer much other than what it claims to be rum and very smooth at that with no off putting notes or excessive burn. Incredibly easy to drink and highly recommended.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted over 1 year ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 159 ratings

taste - 6.5/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 9/10

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by GreeZ from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Drank this a while ago so I don't have any specific details on the rum. I do remember enjoying it but it did cost £30. There are better rums around the 20-25 range.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kasper Meijer from Switzerland with 36 ratings

The bottle makes you think it's special. But it's only a tasty rum, nothing special for me

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ann from Ukraine with 1 rating

Сама бутылка выглядит представительно, не дёшево.

Цвет медный, достаточно тёмный.
Ножки стекают со средней скорость.

Аромат интенсивный и сложный - сладость, богатая ваниль, сухофрукты из которых что-то сильно доминирует, но разобрать что именно так и не смог.

Вкус очень сладкий и очень мягкий - меласса, приятная ваниль, сухофрукты, немного карамель и варёная
морковь, которая здесь диссонирует. Аромат и вкус коррелируются. Это самый мягкий и самый сладкий ром, что довелось пить. Пьётся очень легко.

Как для рома из колонны непрерывной дистилляции вполне не плохо. Свой характер присутствует.

Пустой бокал очень приятно пахнет мелассой и ванилью.

Через месяц простоя половины бутылки, напиток успокоился и уже не такой оверсладкий, и в целом стал приятней.

На утро ощущения нормальные. Есть с чем сравнить :)

Достоинства:
Сложный аромат и вкус
Недостатки:
Очень сладкий, присутствует диссонанс во вкусе.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Admiral Tyler from Canada with 7 ratings

For some reason, this rum has always just reaslnated with me. A faint hint of smoke, and toffee finish. It is strong and does have a slight burn but is still smooth. Goes great with smoked red meat. I recommend or sip when I have a roast in the smoker. And I like the rectangular bottle. That is unique for display.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Miguel from Germany with 13 ratings

Mir war der zu fasslastig. Wem sowas taugt der is hier richtig. Ich steh eher auf süße Rums wie A.H.Riise oder Pantation. Is kein schlechter Rum, einfach nur nicht mein Geschmack.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lukasz from Poland with 20 ratings

pleasant sweet aroma - icing, honey, cinnamon, exotic wood. In the mouth there are clear notes of sherry, wine mold and still a lot of honey. Light finish - water with honey, rose water, a delicate root note, slightly tobacco.