Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial

Dominican Republic | Aged

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

6.8/10 (467 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
16
27
101
175
124
20
2

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

467 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a unique rum experience and should be tried.

That said, the rum smells and finishes like perfume! I prefer the cheaper and tastier Barcelo Grand Anjeo to the Imperial. This one surprised me, in a bad way...

I'm thinking it must be the barrels they are using for this label. The oak flavor was odd, it was over oaked providing a burnt tobacco flavor. The whole rum was way off, dry, and unbalanced. The only saving grace is that I could taste a quality aged rum wanting to come out. It was just overpowered by a strange oakey flavor and overly pungent botanicals. For my second try I used a glass of Coke to help calm it down a bit but that lingering perfume aroma would not go away and that strange oak flavor prevailed.

The rum is not worth the price but its something a rum drinker should try. Maybe your experience will be different but I think Barcelo took what could have been a great rum and messed it up terribly.

It's also a nasty hangover. That smell is still in my nose and I feel awful right now!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Vzhledem k ceně překvapivě chutný, i když tento typ rumů není můj oblíbený.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Freedom of feet from Belgium with 20 ratings

Nice bottle design, looks excuisite, Dry rum, nice pretty dark amber colour, Not too strong alcoholic smell, hints of Oak, leather, Brown sugar and Toffee. First tastes light and but not too sweet, feels oakey, leather, later becomes more bitter in the back of the mouth, also caramel taste and toffee, not the most complex but very enjoyable if u like dry rums. Not the most sweet rum but honest cask flavours. I like it a little more fruity and sweet. altough a good rum to sip.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Madridista from Canada with 6 ratings

I found this rum to be a strong smelling rum. The taste is OK if mixed with ice. I would usually use this for mixing with Coke or pineapple juice.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hotrod from Russian Federation with 5 ratings

At $20-25, it 's clearly the king of the budget segment. Not very sweet, spicy, but a little flavor of alcohol. Drinks easily and much..

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Aged 8-10 years in medium toasted casks.
Aroma is sweet, Taste contains buttery sweetness, vanilla.
Bit heavier, bit sweet and bit smoky.
I´ve got a good feeling about it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 155 ratings

En dejlig blød rom med noter af røg, banan og lakrids.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

Not a favourite but there are some nice flavours. Like the hint of caramel.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Buchi from Germany with 23 ratings

It s a very dry Rum.
If you Like it -good-
Small oak and wooden notes at the end, not too Sharp.
But somethings Missing i am Not shure.
Works with Coke and in Others Drinks.
Not too much differnece between the Gran anejo. - slightly less Sharp more flavours and more oak.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 79 ratings

Krásná láhev, palec nahoru, geniální etiketa složení, prostě jen rum. Umělý korek, palec dolů, krásně, jemně voní, palec nahoru, chuť zpočátku hodně alkoholická, potřebuje si ve skleničce trochu uležet, pak už je to velmi slušné. Zatím jsem nenarazil cenové kategorii do 600,- na konkurenta. Doporučuji.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

Good, okay style Spanish rum that’s very balanced overall. Smooth, not overly complex, well balanced