Posting your rating...
Barcelo Imperial rum

Barcelo Imperial rum is produced in the Dominican Republic using column stills before aged in white oak casks for up to 10 years.

Ron Barcelo was founded in 1929 by Spanish entrepreneur Julian Barcelo in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The brand was sold mainly in the Caribbean and North America until a much broader international expansion began in 1992.

Rate Barcelo Imperial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


422 Barcelo Imperial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Bf39e51312f5961d7ad934385d32e5f2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Adam Freij from Sweden with 28 ratings

Söt lättdrucken rom till bra pengar. Köper gärna denna igen.

Ea279349203019a71bcf500727afb773.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kolibrik from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Good rum with strong aroma, slightly less so on the pallet but enjoyable from the first sip. Works as a sipper to finish the day. Not sweet at all. More after the wood / smoke than caramel that is hinted in the flavor. And a nice bottle to look at.
Great to share with friends and easy on the wallet.

60a83cf7090196e7581a4bc412f63434.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Pietro from Germany with 10 ratings

Ein Rum für jeden Moment oder auch zum Mischen.
Preis Leistung ist nicht schlecht. Hatte keine großen Erwartungen an diesen Rum und wurde auch nicht überrascht.

941aab4222ce8041bc82186d9cc43643.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Alron from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Very tasty but lower rate than it should be due to price

1838a628692b83407f67de1a5a7c3a0d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

It's a bit like the Gran Anejo but with less nuts and more oak. Same sweetness. Expected more

32883fa497b77d499f532ec5029a907d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

Had this first while on a work trip to the Dominican Republic. Was a great cap to several busy days.
Once I returned state side, picked up a bottle for home. While it was still a great soft sipper, it lacked some of the wow factor I first got from it.

Brown sugar and toffee notes that were soothing on the tongue and a nice warming finish by the time you get done with 2 fingers.

Would strongly recommend to any one that enjoys a good rum with a great Dominican cigar.

187d96af8fc19cdb8d5b94b7ac69156d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...hard to rate as it’s not really something special and it’s also not as good as hoped.

2cdbcefa7d32dc71666e8d1a413cd711.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Canada with 7 ratings

N. I. C. E. R. U. M

A3c4deaad7a3138ce3b665a1eebbfe9d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Mam ho ve skrini uz dlouho. Zaujalo me baleni. Ale chut i vune spis zklamaly. Suchy. Koreneny. Mozna i trochu dreva kuze.
Pouzivam ho s třtinovým cukrem a maslem - na panev, zkaramelizovat a je z toho bomba přeliv na zmrzlinu.

4280222d778fd6b1aaa64f84cd17f272.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

I was drinking this at a resort and at best it belongs in coke....

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I am not one for trying out rums because of popularity, but I kept hearing about this rum, so I had to give it a go. The result was a pleasant rum, that will please most rum-lovers.

Nose: Brown sugar, wood and a subtle hint of some fruit, maybe dried apples
Taste: Light, dry and well-rounded with notes of wood, vanilla and raisins
Overall: This is really a good rum. It doesn´t blow your mind, but it is well above average, especially for the price. If it is available to you, then you should consider picking up a bottle.