Posting your rating...
Travellers 5 Barrel rum

Travellers 5 Barrel

Belize | Aged

6.4/10 (9 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
2
2
1

Rate Travellers 5 Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 Travellers 5 Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7d13c3c61e9f8efe00deae69f130c064.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 45 ratings

1 Barrel is way better at substantially less money. 5 Barrel has this sourness to it that just overcomes the palate. 1 Barrel at least has the caramel before the burn. 5 Barrel is a chemical sour without the caramel undertones. So....nah

Nose: 6
Palate: 4
Aftertaste: 4
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 7
Price: 6

Total: 5.3

C87b08e57c7ed71e15c888ed3cd5e93d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Wee Eak from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I was introduced to this Rum by my daughter who worked for 6 years in Belize as one of her favourites. On trying it it soon became one of my favourites too when I could get hold of a bottle as my only source was through my daughter when ever she came home for a break. Quite a smooth rum I could drink till I fell over, nice rummy taste. the only problem being I could not buy it in the UK so it was a treat now and again a very pleasant drink.

47bc0dd0c02607f7ceb7d52ff60142a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

A light amber color, with weak sweet nose, and ragged on the tongue and finish. Not in the same league with many rums so I use it for cocktails (not sipping).

Fe2c1eb81f71495ee92dc526fdb9efee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Richard from United States with 7 ratings

Very smooth rum that can easily be sipped straight, warm or with ice, or mixed with juices or soft drinks.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Tried the Travellers 5 Barrel rum at the Travellers Distrillery in Belize City and this is not a neat sipper. We were offered over 10 different rums at the Distillery tour, but pity that I only remember 3 of them. Anyhow, the 5 Barrel is meant to be enjoyed with Coke. It has a strong alcohol smell and taste and the burn is just nasty.

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Was in belize so i got a bottle. One of the better 5 year old rums, but I next time I will spend a little more and get a 12 year rum.

71bca3b3d0dc1977595817b81638a982.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad from United States with 27 ratings

I picked this up while in Belize last year and I'm glad I did! Very enjoyable rum. A bit of alcohol to the aroma, but there are also pleasant spice and charred wood notes. Very smooth with a nice bourbon like flavor. It does have a bit more of an alcohol burn than I would prefer, but still very good. It makes it into sipping territory for me, but is also an excellent mixer. A good all around rum and one I will be buying again in the future.

B98c1c40ea5cf7c7d970589f2c24a34c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by JermieB from United States with 3 ratings

Heavy Leather and Vanilla on the nose.

Tasting notes: Vanilla, Maple Syrup, Butterscotch, Leather and some burn from the alcohol.

Viscous.

Enjoyable enough in every area but a little young for a neat sipper. Very nice in a Cocktail. I like a Rum Sour with a dash of Angostura.

098c279c7b705115d960480054c7d0a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

I had this on vacation in Belize. Definitely a step up from the one barrel. Not quite a sipper, but will do with a splash of soda water.