Posting your rating...
Trader Vics Dark rum

Trader Vics Dark

United States | Dark

6.4/10 (9 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
1
2
2

Rate Trader Vics Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 Trader Vics Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by SwordKing from United States with 1 rating

I live in Minnesota (outside the Twin Cities area), and we don't really have very many good (much less 'great') rums in our liquor stores. About 15 years ago, my local store started carrying this brand, so I bought "Trader Vic's Dark Rum", as well as a bottle of their gold and silver rums. I made a Mai Tai as close to the original recipe as I could with the T.V. rums & I was blown away!

I used the juice of 1/2 of a lime (close to 1T), an equal amount of home made (because none of the stores around here carry it) Orgeat Syrup (I got the recipe online, but I don't remember where), & whatever Orange Curacao my store had (I don't remember the brand) & two parts each of T.V.'s silver and gold rums , shook the gesundheit out of it, poured it in a glass, filled it with the ice it was shaken with (I don't like to waste ice), and floated T.V.'s Dark Rum on top. Served with a straw, the drink was a taste sensation, sweet & sour, a tiny bit bitter from the almond of the Orgeat Syrup, and the "nose" was fantastic -- almond and bitter orange with T.V.s Dark rum, almost a vanilla extract smell. And the finish! After you sip the main portion of the beverage though the straw, the T.V.'s Dark Rum is a little diluted with the rest of the drink, so you finish with a hit of vanilla/almond/bitter orange & strong Rum flavor. You could be a Pirate in the Caribbean.

_To_ _die_ _for_!!! (So said my lady friend -- but, then, being from North Dakota, she doesn't know that the words "Mai Tai" mean approximately the same thing). And that was my first try...

But, then, years later, something changed, the taste became more bitter -- like Meyer's, or Bacardi Black, and even tasted kinda moldy at times, to me. Then after a few more years something else happened, and it's good again. I've tried Whaler's Black rum, and Gosling's Black Seal, and I find T.V.'s Dark Rum to be just as good, if not better, in certain cocktails, and certainly less expensive around here.

I try to keep it in my cabinet because, well, one never know's, eh?

"Take my advice -- don't listen to me." Neil Young said that.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Mzznlink from United States with 1 rating

Discovered TV Dark Rum on a trip to Maui, made myself a Mai Tai and noticed it added a pleasant spice to the drink. I now special order it from my local Virginia ABC store by the case and share it with family and friends.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Trader Vic's Dark Rum while vacationing in Las Vegas. Basic and cheap looking bottle and label design. Light golden color. Pure alcohol and plenty of vanilla to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Mix this up with your favorite soda since this is not a neat sipper rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Ken blackburn from Australia with 1 rating

Great tasting. Very smooth. Better than most non bundaberg rum brands.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael from United States with 1 rating

Spirits should have taste, not just the jolt of alcohol. However, RV Dark does just that. You sip this rum and enjoy the sweetish taste, and then get the alcoholic taste. It is not only delicious, but you can enjoy many, many sips (! LIKE I DO !) and not get zonky. Compared to more expensive rums which some come with much higher alcohol levels, this 80-proof product has flavor, gentleness to its user and a sense that you can enjoy it for a long time without hangover or any other "by-product". I enjoy this, and I will continue to purchase it enjoyably as it gives me a rum experience which I not only enjoy but can afford as well !

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This stuff is pretty cheap at the local Vic's, and it should be. It's boozy and one-dimensional. Not for sipping unless your name is Captain Hook, in which case you're not reading this anyway.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

No one locally carries Trader Vic's. I found this and the Trader Vic's Silver on a weekend getaway with my wife on St. George Island, Florida. Upon opening the bottle I inhaled the aroma and something about it just wasn't right. Couldn't put my finger on it. Not bad, just something....odd. Tasting it was a letdown. Although it has a sweetness to it and a vanilla undertone it also has a bitterness that stays on the tongue far too long. I don't think this is a rum one would sip on its own. Better used in fruit based mixed drinks, especially citrus based. A bit on the harsh side. I believe with work they could produce a far better dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

It's ok for well drinks and has a nice vanilla note. Umm that is pretty much all it has.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice dark rum, plenty of molasses flavor.