Posting your rating...
Barcelo Gran Anejo rum

Barcelo Gran Anejo

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.1/10 (190 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
32
74
56
14
2

Rate Barcelo Gran Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


190 Barcelo Gran Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

More bite the Imperial. Can still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers just a bit when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed. When traveling in the Island its readily available in every restaurant and bar.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Quite a decent rum, first try is really sharp aftertaste, second try gives a smooth feel. The aroma of the wooden casks. Can be sipped.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Coffee, vanilla, not very long finish without personnality. A good one for cocktail or rocks & coke.
Quote : 6.5

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Very decent, very smooth rum, with wide sugary sweetness and body with hints of coffee and sweet spice. It has very slight after taste burn. I recommend this one as good bargain with high benefit cost. It's very drinkable rum, decent mixer and simple sipper (with no distinctive or surprising taste, however).

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

The Dominicans scored big with this one! I can't believe all the poor or so-so ratings. This rum is fantastic. It's good iced cold and it also makes a punchy rum and coke. This should serve as the standard for "Anejo" rums! It is very balanced, starts with a nice rum bite, finishes smooth with a very subtle sweetness, and is not over oaked. The aroma lingers in the nose and the pallet for a while maintaining a vanilla and nutty finish. Molasses, fruit, and sugar are not the centerpiece of this Anejo. This is a "hotter" more punchy aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Fedde van der Woude from Netherlands with 8 ratings

As always I taste my rum neat. Not a full bodied smooth rum but no overpowering alcohol or burn which is not bad for a rum priced pretty much on par with a Havana club blanco. Spicy and not overly sweet. Pretty decent.

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by austropet from Germany with 2 ratings

I have recently decided to give rum a serious try and as the odds decided I started my rum endeavour with the Barcelo Gran Anejo. Initially I was really happy with the taste and in hind side I think it was a good rum to start with. Now that I have tried some more rums from the high quality palette I would give it an average rating. It is a good rum and once in a while I still drink a sip of it on the rocks, but for the pure taste I would pick another one.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Captain Cole from United States with 2 ratings

For a well priced rum you can’t beat it. Smooth taste and nice color, everything you look for in a rum, and doesn’t hurt the wallet. Always a fan for the Barceló brand and hasn’t failed.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Gun_Collector from United States with 4 ratings

This rum really surprised me. For a rum in the $20 range this is a great selection. It is smooth, with a little bite at the end. Great flavor, great color. Pretty good rum for the money. Definitely a good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

The taste is not very unique, typical Brugal/Barcelo family. Nose of brown sugar, sweet taste profile with touch of oak, short aftertaste. Overall the rum is quite mild, but it is also cheap. I consider it as a cheap, mild, versatile rum which can be used in cocktails or if you want to get trashed cheap you can sip it alright.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Davetitus from United States with 8 ratings

A surprising bargain for a simple sipping rum. No burn.