Posting your rating...
Tommy Bahama Golden Sun rum

Rate Tommy Bahama Golden Sun

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Tommy Bahama Golden Sun ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 months ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Definitely a demerara style and quite sweet considering theres no sugar added. This surprised me because usually these types of flavors tell me there bas been sugar added. It’s like a better Havana Club 7 and has a familiarity to Pussers as well.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a discontinued product so if you find it then buy it for the nostalgia. I actually rated the same rating for the White Sands but I put it above this one in profile for a mixer.

Posted 12 months ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

A delicious pure Bajan Rum in a clunky, gaudy bottle.
You can tell this fine Rum is associated with R. Seales.
Great quality. No "dosing".
Shame there is no more being produced when I finish my last supply

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Amber colored rum from Barbados that is a pretty good value for the money. Nice bottle presentation, flavors are ok, nothing really complex. I have both the Golden sun and the White Sands. I believe they are being weeded out of the market, so get them before they are gone. Oakiness and spice and a little heat

Posted over 3 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Saw the bottle in a liquor store in Illinois. Bought a smallish bottle for $10. It gave me an opportunity to try it and not regret spending much money.
I find it to be mild with nothing that really makes it unique. I do like the shape of the bottle .

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

Really awful. I can't believe Tommy Bahama put a name on it. This stuff would be better used as a cleaner vs a drinking or sipping rum. Great bottle, great label, cheap closure... This is a classic case of a nice package with below average juice. TB is turning a big profit and thats great but do yourself a favor and get better rum for your bar and rest..

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Interesting that such a brand would make a less than stellar product. Mix it heavily.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...checklist...

Famous name...check.

Product of Barbados...check.

Cool label...check.

Nice solid bottle...check.

I usually like rum from Barbados. According to what I have read it's actually distilled by R. L. Seale & Company. That's a good sign.

Plastic top pulls off leaving rubber cork behind...check...

Uh-oh...not a good sign.

Okay, I went pirate and pulled the cork out with my teeth. No breakage. Both my teeth AND the bottle.

Let's start with the color...a deep amber gradient to golden yellow in shallower parts of the snifter. Nice legs in the snifter. Not too thin. A mild aroma. Hard to describe (which has always been a problem of mine). Let's just say the aroma is not objectionable nor harsh.

The flavor is relatively smooth and has a bit of butteriness to it and spiciness that hits early. There is only a hint of vanilla and not much sweetness. Sort of halfway between a cane molasses rum and an agricole. From what I have read it's made from fermented molasses. A decent burn is present all the way down the throat. Aged for three years in oak whisky and bourbon barrels give it a bit of oak character. The finish is a bit bitter however which is disappointing.

For a Barbados distilled rum it's a tad disappointing. However it's not a bad rum. Just not great either. At around $20 it's an affordable rum. It's usable as a mixer but nothing more than that. Not smooth enough in my opinion for sipping and even a little water doesn't really make it sippable either.

All in all it's a rum that workable but not memorable.

Posted over 4 years ago by Shane Conner from Canada with 11 ratings

Found it by accident, bought by the name. Really good. Wish I could get more

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Yes, they make nice shirts and shorts and they should stay away from distilling. With this price it is drinkable as long as ice and coke are added.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

For only $24.99 (BevMo!, 2015), this is a pretty decent rum.

Oak, whiskey, vanilla, brown sugar, smoke, and cinnamon. It's better than I expected; but to me, I think there is just a bit too much whiskey. Even so, a good rum for a decent price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is a low 8 high 7
Honestly one of my favorite of all rums is Pussers *but this is Tommy B* Yes I know. But pop the cork off and pussers and Tommy B smell almost identical GOOD SIGN. This bottle cost me 22$ and from the looks of it they have dropped the price because 22$ for a fifth is reasonable. The color says this rum is probably around "anejo" age so that should give you an idea of what to expect. The bottle is drop dead gorgeous, im turning this into a vase when im done, so there I'm not a rum-alcohlolic I just like vases that happen to have rum in them (sure). Okay it smells exactly like pussers, in the glencairn. Drinking it straight is similar to pussers but its alcohol bite is a little stronger and some flavours are not as strong and some are too strong. I'm comparing to pussers blue because of how similar they are. It makes an amazing rum and coke. Not a super complex rum but it does what I like of rums and that is what is good about it. Very happy with this "spontaneous vase" purchase.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum but very over priced. Just like their shirts, well made, good color, over priced. Too bad they branded it with their name, would have enjoyed it more.

Posted about 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Not bad but very over-priced. Go with an Appleton or other mid-priced rum and you'll do better.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice Smooth rum, great daily drinker

Posted over 7 years ago by Todd Dunn from United States with 45 ratings

Can be a a good sipper, but a good mixer for sure.

Posted over 7 years ago by Rick The Rum Runner from United States with 34 ratings

Caramel aroma, a touch of molasses too. I absolutely LOVE this with cola -- great neat, chilled is good too. Stands up to ice as well... Been a while since I had some -- gotta got and refresh my tastebuds.