Posting your rating...
Tommy Bahama Golden Sun rum

Tommy Bahama Golden Sun

Barbados | Gold

5.9/10 (16 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
3
5
1
1

Rate Tommy Bahama Golden Sun

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Tommy Bahama Golden Sun ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Definitely a demerara style and quite sweet considering theres no sugar added. This surprised me because usually these types of flavors tell me there bas been sugar added. It’s like a better Havana Club 7 and has a familiarity to Pussers as well.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a discontinued product so if you find it then buy it for the nostalgia. I actually rated the same rating for the White Sands but I put it above this one in profile for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Amber colored rum from Barbados that is a pretty good value for the money. Nice bottle presentation, flavors are ok, nothing really complex. I have both the Golden sun and the White Sands. I believe they are being weeded out of the market, so get them before they are gone. Oakiness and spice and a little heat

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

Saw the bottle in a liquor store in Illinois. Bought a smallish bottle for $10. It gave me an opportunity to try it and not regret spending much money.
I find it to be mild with nothing that really makes it unique. I do like the shape of the bottle .

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

Really awful. I can't believe Tommy Bahama put a name on it. This stuff would be better used as a cleaner vs a drinking or sipping rum. Great bottle, great label, cheap closure... This is a classic case of a nice package with below average juice. TB is turning a big profit and thats great but do yourself a favor and get better rum for your bar and rest..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 117 ratings

Interesting that such a brand would make a less than stellar product. Mix it heavily.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...checklist...

Famous name...check.

Product of Barbados...check.

Cool label...check.

Nice solid bottle...check.

I usually like rum from Barbados. According to what I have read it's actually distilled by R. L. Seale & Company. That's a good sign.

Plastic top pulls off leaving rubber cork behind...check...

Uh-oh...not a good sign.

Okay, I went pirate and pulled the cork out with my teeth. No breakage. Both my teeth AND the bottle.

Let's start with the color...a deep amber gradient to golden yellow in shallower parts of the snifter. Nice legs in the snifter. Not too thin. A mild aroma. Hard to describe (which has always been a problem of mine). Let's just say the aroma is not objectionable nor harsh.

The flavor is relatively smooth and has a bit of butteriness to it and spiciness that hits early. There is only a hint of vanilla and not much sweetness. Sort of halfway between a cane molasses rum and an agricole. From what I have read it's made from fermented molasses. A decent burn is present all the way down the throat. Aged for three years in oak whisky and bourbon barrels give it a bit of oak character. The finish is a bit bitter however which is disappointing.

For a Barbados distilled rum it's a tad disappointing. However it's not a bad rum. Just not great either. At around $20 it's an affordable rum. It's usable as a mixer but nothing more than that. Not smooth enough in my opinion for sipping and even a little water doesn't really make it sippable either.

All in all it's a rum that workable but not memorable.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Shane Conner from Canada with 11 ratings

Found it by accident, bought by the name. Really good. Wish I could get more

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Yes, they make nice shirts and shorts and they should stay away from distilling. With this price it is drinkable as long as ice and coke are added.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

For only $24.99 (BevMo!, 2015), this is a pretty decent rum.

Oak, whiskey, vanilla, brown sugar, smoke, and cinnamon. It's better than I expected; but to me, I think there is just a bit too much whiskey. Even so, a good rum for a decent price.